LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt

3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt is a lightweight piece you'll love to layer. Touchably soft slub top features rolled trim at the scoop neck, smocked accents at waist and shoulders, and trendy tab & button cuffs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
17 out of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Review 1 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
City: Houston
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Not worth the buy, even on clearance
Date:October 13, 2012
Cons: cheap fabric
I bought this shirt discounted on clearance, but I wouldn't pay fifteen dollars for it again. After one wash it started pilling up, and it's only gotten worse. Also after two or three washes a hole tore along the seam under the left armpit. It's a shame, because it fits well and the fabric isn't nearly as sheer as most plus-size women's clothing is nowadays. You can't even see my bra through it. I got maybe two wears in public out of this before it was relegated to around-the-house cleaning and child care.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flowerdengirl
Date:September 15, 2012
Pros: Comfort
Cons: more colors
This is one of the best blouses I have in my closet. It is soft and comfortable to wear. Wish it came in more colors. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Susieinthemountains
City: Dillion
State: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Surprised and style
Date:August 24, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Well i ordered this as a sleep shirt. and am already trying to figure out what i can wear it with here in the mountains, AND just ordered a second to stash for next summer. I am 5'8" 220 lbs and wear a 14/16 in looser shirts and 18/20 in tighter. I ordered this in 14/16, while it is shear, it hangs well and is surprisingly stylish, I am not sure this will work as a layer top, but man it is too cute to JUST be a sleep shirt. bright color and SUPER soft!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
koala
City: Portland
State: Oregon
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store
Busty girls watch out
Date:August 22, 2012
Pros: Comfort, soft material
Cons: Fit, Style, very loose, bust is too short, smocking on front creates "cowl neck" on chest, material doesn't stay put, very thin fabric (translucent)
I'm a high-chested, 5'1", 38G and ordered this in a 14/16.... and the fit was totally off.
The smocking on the chest rested against my 'underboob' just below my nipples rather than against my ribs below my bustline, so the fabric was being gathered between my breasts rather than gathering in at an empire waist. This caused a crazy cowl neck effect over my bust (and you can see a much more minor version of it in the product photos, especially in the two different blue colors). This also meant that I didn't get any empire waist effect from this shirt. It was baggy at the sides and didn't at all flatter the only point on my apple-shaped body it should have: my under-bust waistline!
Normally I'd just exchange for a size up, since clearly the bust area of the shirt just wasn't tall enough for someone with my chest. But the shirt was already so loose and formless in all other ways that going up a size seemed it would just have made it worse (and, of course, I can't go down a size to get that part to fit since 14/16 is the smallest!). I don't understand who this shirt was made for, because it would take a larger bust than mine to fill out the extra material in the "cowl neck", but a smaller bust than mine to fit above the smocking (without putting all on display, anyway). It's like nobody looked at a human body when this shirt was cut.
The material is very soft and comfortable, although EXTREMELY THIN, and as I ordered in white I would definitely have to wear cami underneath. The weight of the material meant I could see all the bumps of my pants' waistline; and combined with the bagginess, the shirt just didn't stay put. It would cling to one part of me, bunch up, ride up - pretty much just be intolerable and require constant readjusting. And don't even think about wearing this top under a sweatshirt or jacket without taping it to your body first - or it won't be covering the things it should when you go to take your coat off!
If someone got a better, tighter fit with this shirt (smaller busted apples, or maybe even a pear), the problems above probably wouldn't occur. But for me, I may return or just wear it around the house (I paid almost nothing for it).
If you order, size down!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaceyLoo
City: Wichita
State: Kansas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:May 19, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I loved this shirt so much, I bought it in two colors! I wear them to work, around the house, and I can even dress it up for going out. Very comfortable, and it looks great on me. I had seen it online but didn't like it, however in the store, it was a different story! Definitely worth the money!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
faulconmom
City: Memphis
State: Tennessee
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
You will need a cami underneath.
Date:May 11, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit, low neckline
This lightweight top is very flattering. The smocking enhances a smaller bust and the length is perfect. However, the sleeves are elbow length at best and the neckline sits very low. I don't know what it is with Lane Bryant and cutting knecklines so low. Guess they think we all want to display a lot of cleavage. Would never pay full price for this, but the sale price is reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LdyB
City: Taneytown
State: Maryland
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store
LOVE IT!!
Date:May 3, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Cons: Style
Found this on clearance in-store, immediately wished I had purchased more. SO HAPPY to find more colors online.
I'm a 5'11" size 20 with most of my height in my torso, so it is a challenge to find cute tops that are long enough. This shirt is nice and long, very lightweight fabric, and gorgeous colors.
My only complaints are that the fabric creates little balls quickly, even with line drying; and it can be a struggle to conceal bra straps. The neckline slips without much movement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee28
City: Albany
State: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Love, love, love this top!
Date:May 2, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I love it so much I am ordering additional colors. It is very lightweight but not too much so! Perfect for these already hot days!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrenfromFlorida
City: Rochester Hills
State: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love this top, great style and lightweight fabric
Date:April 26, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, lightweight, longer length, great fabric - no wrinkles or shrinkage, nice neckline! not to revealing but not stuffy!
This top is awesome. It has some smocking right below the bust area which makes it sort of empire style which is great on gals with a bigger tummy like me! The sleeves do have a tab and button to make them shorter, but I hardly noticed it and I like the below the elbow sleeve length. I absolutley LOVE the fabric! It is very thin, though the black is not see-through. This shirt is going to be worn lots this summer. It washes and dries beautifully with no shrinkage or wrinkles! LOVE IT. PS It is somewhat on the larger size so if you are bigger than 26/28 I would say that the 26/28 size could fit up to a 30/32. I like my tops larger in the summer especially so it worked for me. It is longer too....about 29 inches. Covers the belly perfectly! One other review said that the pink one was see-thru...Not sure about that, but the black one is fine and I wore a black bra with it and you could not see through the top at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TallPlus
State: New Hampshire
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Not 3/4 sleeve on talls
Date:April 18, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
The shirt on the models appears to have a 3/4 sleeve, with the tab buttoned. For me, at 5'11", size 18/20, the sleeves are barely below my elbows when loose, and when rolled up and tabbed, they are 'elbow length' short sleeves. I like this look, and the top otherwise is also very flattering to my figure (B cup, with tummy). I don't find the neckline too wide or too low. I love the light material for hot weather. The white top is particularly nice given the craze for all things white this season - it appears graceful and light because of the slubbed fabric.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela79
State: Arkansas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
super cute!
Date:April 16, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
adorable, soft fabric and very flattering! I lucked out and got this on clearance!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ezspirited1
City: Sacramento
State: California
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
GREAT BUY!!!!
Date:April 12, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I bought this shirt for 9.00 a piece and I used a gift check! I originally looked into this shirt at the price of $39.99 and thought it looked cute on but not worth the price so I passed. Then I got a hack of a deal on them and I bought 5 of them. I love the thin slub knit and the colors are beautiful! I live where it gets so hot in the summer and this shirt is perfect for those 110 degree days! Even if I sleep in them with my sleeping shorts! I love them for the sale price!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Aglaranna
Fabric is too thin.
Date:April 5, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: fabric
Cute top, but the fabric is really see-through, especially with the lighter colors!! Taking my pink one back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
teachermommy
City: Kent
State: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cute, but not perfect
Date:April 3, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, colors
I would never have bought this top at full price-- the fabric is too flimsy and the cut isn't perfect-- but I bought three of them the other day at $9.99 (with Real Woman Dollars, they were $5 each!), and that was a good deal.
The tops look very cute over jeans or casual pants. I really like the pink and blue colors, as well as the black; the sleeve length is great-- a flattering length.
I have to wear a cami underneath, because the front of the shirt is loose and very low-cut, and I have a large bust. But the black lace-trimmed cami I wear underneath makes these tops safe to wear, and adds elegance. I would prefer not to HAVE to wear a cami underneath; I feel that Lane Bryant is purposefully designing tops such that I have to wear a cami underneath. :( But in this case, it is quite cute.
I've only washed the shirts once, but so far they are holding up well. I will buy more if the price is right. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christina218
City: Phila
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cute top!
Date:March 28, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
I bought this shirt over the weekend in the fuchsia and went back tonight for the capri. The fabric is very thin so I plan on wearing them with a tank underneath, simply because of the fabric's weight & sheerness. I don't find the neckline too low or wide as others have mentioned but I definitely think it runs a bit snug - especially in the arms (for me). Overall it's a really cute top & I love the colors!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vixter
City: LA
State: California
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cool for summer (literally)
Date:March 26, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
The slub fabric is very thin and sheer. Somewhat see through. I can see my bra in the back on the white one but it's not so noticeable in the other colors. Love this fabric in the summer. Keeps me cool. I am large busted and the gathering that is supposed to go below your busom hit right in the middle of "the girls". Surprisingly, it still looks okay. I'm a 22 or 2X with a size "F" cup. So, if you are under a DDD you should be fine. The scoop neck is low and wide. It's flattering. Sleeves are cute rolled up or down. True to size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sarahbee
City: Denver
State: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Love it!
Date:March 22, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: fabric pilling
I bought this shirt in 4 different colors! i love the light weight knit feel of this shirt. bought one on a saturday shopping with my mom for 8 buck and wore it the next day. loved how it felt and looked i went back for 3 more. i don't think it looks like a maternity shirt on me. prefer the sleeves rolled down. down side is only washed the pink one i'm wearing today a couple times and the fabric is already pilling. best $32+tax bucks i've spent in a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saiza
City: Kansas City
State: Missouri
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
I bought this shirt on clearance.
Date:March 15, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I bought this shirt when it was on clearance at my local store for 8 dollars, and couldn't have gotten a better deal. It's very lightweight, kind of sheer, but you can't see through it. I think it's very flattering at cute, the neckline is a little low, but it doesn't show anything. It reminds me a little of a maternity top, but it's very cute and flattering. I bought it in purple and blue, I thought it was cute and couldn't beat the 8 dollar price tag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BTHM73
State: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Love, love, love
Date:February 27, 2012
Pros: Comfort
I purchased this top and I am going back to purchase at least two more. It camoflages my "rotund" tummy. It is a softer version of an empire waste which is flattering to my figure, I do NOT feel as though it resembles Maternity wear. The material is sheer, though that is reminiscent of the "burn out" styles and I will wear the Lace trimmed cami under and it will be super cute. I would reccomend this for a casual weekend look with capris or shorts for playing at the park or shopping...Thanks Lane Bryant!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/4 sleeve smocked slub shirt
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pinkmarshmallowducks
City: Cincinnati
State: Ohio
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Yuck
Date:February 17, 2012
Cons: Fit, Style
Flimsy material and it looked like a maternity shirt. I have a tummy to hide as well and where the ruching hit (right below my chest) it looked severely maternity. Being chesty didn't help at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>