LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan

Trendy long length and lightweight linen make our elbow sleeve cardigan a versatile topper to dresses, tanks and more. Mixed stitch sweater features shoulder yoke and ribbed trim on open placket, cuffs and hem.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
9 out of 18(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Review 1 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MissChristina
City: Dayton
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
65% off and it's still going back.
Date:August 26, 2012
Cons: thin poorly constructed.
I paid $17.50 for this cardigan, half off the clearance price of $35, with a retail of $50. I took it out of the package and put it in the washer, washed it exactly as the directions stated. It left pills over the rest of my clothes in the load, and I noticed a snag at the top seam where a nice little "run" was developing into a hole. I haven't even worn it yet, but I can tell you it's not worth even the $17.50. It is a cute top, but if it's going to fall apart before I can even wear it, I can certainly invest my money in some sturdier pieces. Disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
twinmom2
City: missouri city
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Versitle item
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This shrug is versatile and mixes and matches with all Lane Bryant dressy tanks/ shells. I bought it in black and love it. It's long enough to hide/ cover my large breast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gea123
Buyer beware....
Date:July 9, 2012
Pros: Comfort
Cons: material
I liked this cardigan and it fit me well. I'm only giving it a one star due to it completely falling apart (on a little snag). I will never again purchase an item made from this particular material. Buyer beware.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
megan0377
City: Dallas
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Save your money on this one!!!!!!
Date:June 29, 2012
Cons: poorly made, bad material, won't last
I got to wear this maybe 3 times before one of my rings snagged it and made a large hole in it. The material is cheap and this piece is poorly made. What a waste. I read the other reviews and bought it anyway. Please learn from me and DON'T BUY THIS PIECE!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TXSunshine
City: Woodlands
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Very Versatile
Date:June 20, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit, runs large size down
Bought this in 5 different colors, I have seen no issues with pilling as some have described, and have washed them all on delicate and line dry as I do all my clothes, and they look good as new. Run big, my 14/16 are a little bigger than I would like. Very slimming and I wear them with so many different outfits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missyjmcbee
City: Poulsbo
State: Washington
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
I think I'm the only one who loves this thing
Date:May 29, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I love this thing. It does lose its shape but that doesn't bother me. I could see if you're in a professional setting, you wouldn't want to wear it. I take meds that give me hot flashes so this is extremely light-weight but if I get chilled, it's perfect for that. I do wash it separately from everything else and hang dry. Mine has some pilling, but not a lot.
For me, it's comfortable. I did buy it in the store and I don't wash it a lot, so that may help. I usually wear it with a t shirt so don't experience itching. Even with bare arms, for myself, I don't experience itching.
I tend to like baggy things which is probably why I don't mind it losing its shape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
teachermommy
City: Morton
State: Illinois
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Poor quality-- only buy on clearance
Date:May 23, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit, poor quality material, overpriced
I was very happy to find this black cardigan in the store at the end of winter. I liked the shape and the versatility of the piece.
Unfortunately, it very quickly lost its original elegant look. After only a few wearings and a wash or two, it was threadbare in some places and rather stretched-out and shapeless. It no longer hung in the tailored, elegant way you see in the online picture. There was always a lot of black fuzz on the other laundry, or in the lint filter. And it very quickly developed a hole.
I still wear it, but only for casual purposes. I'd recommend only buying this for $10 or less, considering how few times you will be able to wear it out of the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bloggerbecky
State: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Disappointing
Date:May 23, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: Comfort, pills easily, itchy
Most everyone else has already said the same thing, but I'll echo:
- Pills EVERYWHERE; I have the khaki one and can pretty much only wear it with khaki unless I want to have a lint brush in my hand the whole day
- It's linen blend, which means it is SUPER itchy
- $50 for a sweater? Really?
Now...that said, I absolutely love the style, fit and color. I haven't decided if my complaints are enough to make it a deal breaker, but buyer beware - you will be a linty mess if you buy this sweater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tesleen
City: Winter Haven
State: Florida
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Poor Quality
Date:May 16, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: poor quality
I have to agree with other reviews of this product regarding it's poor quality. I bought two of these before reading the reviews. One in Aquarius and one in Dusty Olive. I have worn each of them once and have not washed either. Both are comming appart already after only one wear. The olive one is separating at the arm seem. Lane Bryant needs to quit selling this item. I'm very disappointed since they are very comfortable and fit great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jennyvere
City: San Diego
State: California
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
fell apart when washed.
Date:April 14, 2012
Cons: made poorly
Fell apart after 1 washing - black fuzz everywhere. Poorly made.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alpartlow
City: Broadalbin
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Didn't get to wear it once!
Date:April 9, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: quality
The fit and style were great when I tried it on in store (I bought the black one) so I was really excited about it until I washed it the first time. I followed the washing directions, cold delicate cycle, but when I opened the washing machine I saw matted up black fuzz all over the interior of my washing machine. I pulled it out and shook it and the floor was instantly covered in wads of black fuzz. Upon inspection I found a number of good sized spots that were now little more than a few crossed threads that were entirely transparent. I spent fifty dollars for the privilege of washing a sweater; I will definitely be making another trip to the store but it won't be to get this sweater in another color!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lotus57
City: Wichita
State: Kansas
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love it...at first.
Date:March 30, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: pilling and snagging
I bought this in Aquarius in store. The color is fabulous in person and I love it...at first! I did not get through half of my work day and the sweater began pilling like crazy! I got over it. Then while wearing it today, it caught on EVERYTHING! Now there is a large hole in the front and unfortunately I cannot wear it anymore. I got 2 wears out of this $50 sweater, that is not right. I was going to buy it in all colors, glad I did not! Just thought I would share my experience.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ocheree
State: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Nice coverage for summer
Date:March 23, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
If you're like me and hate your upper arms and don't like to show them in summer this cardigan is great to go over those summer tops! It covers the arms and it light enough for even those warm summer days. I bough the tan and black and will be ordering the white as well. It did run big compared to other LB cardigans..for those I've had to buy 22/24...but this one fit for my usual 18/20 size.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bethany72
City: Paducah
State: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Nice layering piece
Date:March 18, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I purchased this in all four colors. The fit is pretty true to size. However, if you are like me and are kind of "in between" on a lot of LB items I would absolutely go to the smaller size. This cardigan looks great w/ slacks or jeans. My only complaint is that it catches/snags on absolutely everything! I guess it's the material and weave of the cardigan but I snag it a million times a day. Otherwise, great piece!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuluMD
State: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cute and Comfy
Date:March 16, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Cons: Style
Nice swing to this sweater, although I'm used to cardigans that seem to stay in place just a bit more. Got the khaki and paired it with khaki pants and black top and it's very cute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amythyst
State: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Like it .....but :)
Date:March 5, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I bought a 22/24 in white and I do like it, its very cute. However, I have one complaint. I have sort of larger arms and its really tight in my upper arm. This is very unattractive as there is a seam that goes right in the front of the arm. So, it kind of sticks out like a sore thumb. The white one is also very see through.
I am not sure if I would have the same issue with it if I purchased a 26/28, but it would probably be too big on me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdi
City: Douglasville
State: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Excellent layering piece
Date:March 3, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
I bought the black and fresh khaki. Very good fit... runs a little large but it is manageable!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elbow sleeve long slub cardigan
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tben
City: Madison
State: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great cardigan for any season
Date:February 24, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I got this cardigan recently and it is so comfortable and stylish. It kept me warm despite the shorter sleeves and I'm guessing it will come in handy during the summer as well. I normally wear a 26/28 in LB clothing, but that was a little big so I ordered one size down.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.