LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Black skinny jean

Show off curves to their best advantage with our versatile black skinny jeans.  Power stretch denim utilizes dual flex yarn technology and offers the comfort of a jegging and leaner, more flattering fit.  Convenient 5-pocket style, rivets and dyed-to-match stitching.  Button and zip fly closure and belt loops.  Available in Petite and Tall, too.
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
3
10 out of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black skinny jean
Review 1 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amug4u
Best fit and style ever!
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Comfort, color
Cons: cannot buy similar skinnys
LOVED this denim from the moment I put them on. Bought in store. The black wash is very stylish. I have a big gut and no butt but these actually made my booty look good.
I was so delighted with these that i bought online the dark wash # 176081 and dark rinse # 150980. Much to my horror these arrived with the word JEGGING embroidered on to them! Jeggings are so last year and skin tight, yuck! I tried to keep an open mind thinking maybe, technically, jeggings and skinnys are the same, but in a side by side comparison, my awesome black skinnys have a good 1.5" more room in the thigh then what i received and the length of the jeggings was longer and not as advertised. The lycra content was also more on these then my black. CS made return easy, so no complaint there, except i really wanted two more pairs of these awesome fitting skinny jeans! I really hope this sku issue is rectified. The upc/item desc of "skinny" matched the price ticket number of the "jegging "received. Hopefully an innocent mistake and not LB trying to pass old redlined product for this season ! I am a new LB customer and until now have been very impressed by quality and customer service both in stores and online. BTW these were genius fit. I really hope they keep carrying these and will try again for skinnys in a couple months i guess. By far my favorite jeans in MANY years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MkFromMN
State: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
LOVE THESE JEANS
Date:November 27, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, look
I have wanted a pair of nice fitted black jeans. These fit my body to a T. You can go dressy with these jeans or casual.
I hope they come back in stock. I want more of them!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
magnolia26
City: Boulder
State: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Love them but ...
Date:October 19, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: don't wash well
First, I don't know what other reviewers are experiencing when they talk about smell. I've bought two pairs at two different times and have had no such thing. I guess I'm lucky. Second, they're a great fit, not too tight, roomy but not baggy. I don't have a "big stomach" and am not "expecting" as another viewer noted so that's not why they fit well. I am VERY hour glass shaped and like that they accommodate my curvy hips and small waist because the elastic in the jeans just shapes them to me perfectly. The only catch is that when you wash them even in cold water with no detergent, they fade to charcoal black/grey and shrink quite a bit. The fit is still great, more true to a skinny jean but I wanted dark black pants for work. I bought a second pair which I'm only going to dry clean.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
behappytoo
City: Houston
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Run waaaay too big
Date:May 26, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I like the material they are made of but they are extremely big around the waist and the crotch is really long. These jeans are very comfortable, if you have a big stomach or expecting they will probably work well for you. I would not consider the material jean like the other jeans lb sells. They fit my rear and legs well but they stretch after putting them on and become huge sround the waist. The jeans also run long. I am tall and normally love finding jeans that are a little too long but these are extremely too long. I wear talls so I know my size but this would've been a little better for me if I bought regular. I would not buy these again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Staci
City: Frankfort
State: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
They smell horrible
Date:April 17, 2013
Pros: Comfort
Cons: stench, cheap
The jeans run big. They get bigger as you wear them. They are comfortable. The fabric is very thin, more like twill than denim. However, I've washed them several times and just can't get rid of the horrible chemical sulphur like smell that cheap black denim always has. I didn't expect that from $60 jeans, and I wouldn't buy these again, not even for $6.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhiannon
City: Bremen
State: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Very comfortable!
Date:April 5, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: run big, not that skinny
I was hesitant to buy these jeans because of the three star rating they have. I am so glad that I bought them. I got two pairs of these jeans because they were on sale for $20 each plus I had a coupon code that made them less than $10 each. As for the fit, the petites are the perfect length for me, the material is super comfortable and very stretchy. I would not, however, consider these skinny jeans. To me, they fit more like straight leg jeans. Also, they became very loose on me the longer I had them on, so I would suggest going down a size if you buy them. As a matter of fact, I am back today to buy another pair in a size smaller! They do have a very slight gap in the back, but not enough to bother me, unlike most jeans I try on. Overall, if you are just looking for a comfortable pair of jeans, these are almost perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LB Shopper8
Age: 25-34
Why do they smell so awful?
Date:April 2, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: smelly
So, these pants fit wonderfully. I wouldn't call them jeans other than how they are cut and have pockets, etc. The material is not nearly as thick as in other LB jeans. They have a lot of stretch, and aren't as skinny in the calves/ankles as other LB skinny jeans. I love them, EXCEPT that they SMELL TERRIBLE. I've washed them twice, and I can't get rid of the smell. I've never run across LB clothes for which the smell couldn't be washed out. :(
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaulaTX
City: Fort Worth
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
True to Size
Date:March 16, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I ordered these jeans in a 14t instead of a 12t. My bad!!! I should have listened to myself and not the reviews. They run true to size. I wear a 12 in all LB pants. They are a great pair of black jeans to fit everyone's wardrobe. I am hoping they shrink. Oh, the talls are 33 inseam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
railgirl
City: Omaha
State: Nebraska
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
SO COMFY...BOUGHT TWO
Date:January 13, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I almost didn't try these on in the store because they were labeled SKINNY. Like most of the other reviewers have said, they are not tight at the ankles. But, they are exactly the shape I like and wanted. The fabric has such a good stretch and they are so comfy that I bought two pair...one indigo and one black. My local Lane Bryant is closing at the mall so everything in the store was 70% off. Great buy. Love them. I did wash them before wearing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GoldilocksCG
City: Wauconda
State: Illinois
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Thes pants stink!!! Literally!
Date:January 8, 2013
Cons: smelly fabric/dye
I ordered 2 pairs of these pants, and have washed them numerous times, I cannot manage to get the smell of the dye or whatever it is out of them! They are not true skinny jeans either, the ankles are too baggy, and cannot be worn with knee high boots.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Niecy328
City: Brooklyn
State: New York
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Poor quality
Date:December 24, 2012
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Fit, color not saturated
I ordered these in a 16t and received a 16p because they were above my ankles. They were also huge and looked as if the black would wash out after the first wash. The fabric felt thin so they would work for the spring/summer as well. I really want a pair of black jeans so may give them another shot in a 14t.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
techchick
City: Cincinnati
State: Ohio
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Love 'em!
Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
i just got these yesterday and couldn't wait to wear them! It does say to wash them first because of color rubbing off onto other items like tops and chairs, but I wore a black top and have black seats in my car, so I didn't take the time to wash them. They fit great! I bought my usual size in the tall length, and they are comfortable and the length is great. Looking forward to getting these in other colors too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ShyFrost
City: New York
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Not the LB quality that I am used to!
Date:December 2, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: poor quality
So I should have listened to the reviewers on this one but I really wanted a black jean and these just seemed so perfect! They look great when you get them, but then I went to wash them before I wore them so that they wouldn't dye my other clothes when I wore them just like I do all my LB jeans. But after I pulled them out the dryer (I dried them on the wrong side as always) and a good bit of the color had faded! That is not supposed to happen after only one wash! I wanted to love this because the fit was perfect, but I can't forgive that but I will try to make it work since I can't return them now. :( Buyer beware!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
homeskimmy
City: Columbia
State: South Carolina
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great Fit!
Date:November 11, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I was in the market for skinny black jeans and LB was having a flash sale at 50% off. Since they were skinny jeans, I tried on a size larger (22) than what I ususally wear at LB and had to go down to an 18 (pleasant surprise). I think if I really wanted them to fit super tight (like most like their skinny jeans), I could have gotten away with a size 16. So, I would agree with other reviewers who said they ran large.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kjg4g4
love
Date:October 7, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I love these skinny jeans and they were very comfortable.
They fit and feel so well my daughter, stole them from me!!!!
I plan to buy a couple of pairs. When you find something good go for it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kupcake
State: Maine
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
So Disappointed
Date:September 8, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: ran small
I own a couple pair of skinny jeans from other companies & I love them so I was very excited to find these solid black ones on here. I went ahead & ordered them in my usual size but when I got them today I was severely disappointed. The pair I got seemed to run several sizes too small, I could barely get both legs in them & there was no way I was getting them past my hips. I found this to be extra disappointing since I had read a review stating that the jeans ran big. I'll be most likely returning them & getting something else that fits properly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
True18
City: Porterville
State: California
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Really BIG!
Date:September 7, 2012
Pros: nice black color, nicely sewn
Cons: Style, Fit, made for small waist bigger rear end
.Bought 2 pairs because I was told the Talls are 33" inseam, that’s what I needed. Put them on and boy was I disappointed! I wear size 18T in almost every pair of pants I buy, but these. They fit great in the waist and lengh, but I could fit another person in the butt and thighs. Skinny means tight fit, these are anything but...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountaineer
City: Bryson City
State: North Carolina
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
ONLY TWO LITTLE PROBLEMS
Date:February 29, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
These jeans fit and feel great. Only two things could have been better. The black bled onto my top the first time they were worn and they only came in black. My favorite fit. . . more colors please!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black skinny jean
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anynameisfine
City: Freeport
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Didn't do anything for me
Date:February 4, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I ordered these well because its the trend these days, they looks cute and thought it would look good with booties or pumps. I ordered my reg size 24 but these were huge! They are also very short, im 5'8 and most of my skinny jeans are 32in inseams but this seems atleast 3 inches too short, maybe they would look good in tall boots, i'll try a smaller size to see if it makes a difference but as of right now, these didnt do anything for me, will be returning. The material is of a nice quality though.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.