LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Babydoll coat

A charming twist on the classic trench, our beautiful babydoll coat keeps you cozy with a flattering, feminine fit. Detailed with unique turn-lock closures, turned-down collar and slash pockets. Soft, textured exterior is fully lined for extra warmth. The perfect finishing touch for dressy or casual ensembles!
Average Customer Rating:
3.118 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
8 out of 17(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Babydoll coat
Review 1 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lesblue31
City: Montclair
State: New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
don't bother
Date:February 3, 2013
Cons: poor quality!
didn't realize this coat has strange metal turnlocks instead of buttons. When I put it on one of them fell right off. retuned the coat to store and they stuck me with the shipping charges. bad purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raiine
City: Hillsboro
State: Oregon
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Very nice coat.
Date:January 29, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Got this when they had the 70$ off clearance. This is a nice light to medium weight coat. Would be great for fall and spring. Might be able to wear a light weight sweater underneath. Very cute and flattering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jnic
Date:January 25, 2013
I had this coat and it fit great. It was a bummer though as I had to return it due to one of the toggle buttons coming off. They are metal and there was no way to fix it;
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Loved it at first.....
Date:January 18, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: buttons
Loved this coat when I first received it. The fit was great. The sleeves were long enough--I have very long arms. After only 2 weeks, one of the toggle buttons popped off. they are not sewn on, so there was no way to repair it. I ended up returning it for the Peacoat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaulaTX
City: Fort Worth
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
BEAUTIFUL.... LOVE IT!!!
Date:January 12, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, feel
Cons: buttons heavy
This coat is absolutely beautiful. I have a long torso, 38DD top, and long waist. Most 14-16 (XL) coats are tight or small in the chest, short in length and short in the sleeves. This coat fits perfect and I have room for a bulky sweater on cold days. I has hesitant due to the reviews. I am so glad I went ahead and ordered. The buttons are heavy and I normally don't button my coat, so I am hoping that I won't have am issue with them. If I do, I will not return and have the buttons replaced. I love the style, fit and feel of this coat. The Lane Bryant sales lady, customers, and my friends have all commented on how beautiful this coat is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
soundandvision
City: Milwaukee
Age: 25-34
Great look but overall, not worth it
Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: poor construction, thin material, buttons
This coat looks fantastic on--it's very slimming and the purple is a bright fun pop of color. The material is rather thin so if you're looking for a warm, wool-like winter coat this isn't for you. The fit is also very roomy which is good for when you're wearing thick winter sweaters.
The bad news: within two wears the top clasp completely came apart. I had LB send me a replacement coat and I didn't even get a chance to wear it as the top clasp came apart again. I'm really disappointed and will be returning it completely and shopping somewhere else. It's a shame, it was a lovely coat and I received a lot of compliments. If you're handy with the sewing needle though, I'm sure you could probably fix this problem but alas I'm not that crafty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gloria
City: Melrose
State: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Coat is beautiful
Date:December 21, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
The coat is very comfortable and very beautiful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
askfashion
City: Boston
State: Massachusetts
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
BUYER BEWARE for BUTTONS
Date:December 18, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: poor closures, too thin, poor construction/stabilzation
This jacket is nice- however after the first one- i returned it having had the twist clasp fall off of the coat and the metal button hole pulled out. Clearly someone did not think this through. THe material and construction of the jacket is entirely too thin for this heavy of a notion. The fabric is too thin and the minimal interfacing along the front is clearly not enough to stablize such a heavy notion. It was a nice thought- looks good- but functions poorly. After returning my first jacket to the store I got a new one. However only 2 weeks of wear (everyday)- i had the same issue. And since I have a background in fashion myself- i tore out all of the closures (too easily i might add) and replaced it with 1.25 inch pink buttons, and refinished the button hole. Now that the jacket is more functional I am very happy with it- just very dissappionted with the orignal closures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tabbytaz
State: Oregon
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
love love love
Date:December 13, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, so soft
As soon as I saw this jacket I knew I had to have it. Love the color love the fit. It is so nice and soft. I very very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
christslove1782
Super Cute Coat
Date:December 12, 2012
I love this coat. It is nice and warm on a cold day. I got so many compliments on it when I wore it. I just wish that there were more closures further down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anon8
Cute, but more casual than dressy
Date:December 11, 2012
The coat fits well and is flattering. However, the fabrication is more thin than I expected of a coat, and the textured fabric gives it a more casual appearance than appears in the photo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ellyn
Date:December 10, 2012
Cons: Fit, Style
I thought this coat looked really cute online and it did on the model! but on me, it came t o my knees and ballooned out and did not flatter at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Urban professional
City: St Louis
State: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
beautiful coat--tons of compliments
Date:December 2, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit
I'm not sure what the other reviewers mean by buttons, the metal toggles on this coat are adorable, and mine look quite well installed. I wear 42DD and ordered the 18/20, and it fits great over a warm sweater, or a light jacket for the office. On my apple-shape, it hangs beautifully down the back with no pulling or bunching. This cut would be very flattering for a pear-shaped lady-- fit your top half, there's ample space for the bottom half. I did find the sleeves a little long, and the pockets are a little low--I am 5'5", so only 4 stars for fit. The material is a heavy corduroy weight, very attractive and slimming, but not the warmest coat in my closet, so only 4 stars for comfort. But no bother, I'll wear it with a darling ivory wool cap, scarf and glove set, and knee-high boots. Yay winter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fresa
City: atlanta
State: Georgia
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: Online
think twice
Date:November 17, 2012
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Fit, buttons fall off
Well the jacket is nice i picked it up sunday and on wed. one of the buttons had already fallen off i purchased it a size up to make sure it wasnt a snug fit. I wont buy a jacket from here again 200.00 and the button breaks no thanks. Dont cut corners on stiching.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crissy67
State: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
I Love This Coat
Date:November 16, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: button holes separate from fabric.
I love this coat but unfortunately I am getting ready to return it for the second time. The button holes keep separating from the fabric. I am going to give it one more try which will be the third time, and if it does not work then I will be looking for a new coat. I love the coat is is very classy, it just has that one flaw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HennyPenny
City: Chicago
State: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Adorable jacket but poor quality
Date:November 13, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: overall quality
I bought this jacket YESTERDAY in the store and love it, although it's a bit long in the arms . I was planning on having them altered but I wore the coat to work today for the first time and realized that the pocket had already ripped and the hidden button on the bottom of the jacket is pulling off. I'm so disappointed in the overall quality, that I will be returning it tomorrow, less than 48 hours after purchasing. Super cute but poor overall quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Babydoll coat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ParkAvePrincess
City: San Jose
State: California
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Pretty in Purple
Date:November 10, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: Fit
What a pretty coat! I was expecting the purple to be a little darker, but it's still very pretty. It runs true to size and I love it. However, I felt that it's a little tight across the chest/shoulders, so I can't wear a bulky sweater. And if I went up a size, it would be too big in the waist. I bought an 18/20 and I wear a 44/B bra. It looks really nice on, I'm keeping it anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.