LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Metallic marled sweater dress

Subtle metallic threads lend a hint of glitz to our marled sweater dress. A wardrobe essential style for chilly days, our 3/4 sleeve sweater dress flaunts your feminine style with a V-neck and flattering belted silhouette. Highlight with a few choice accessories and a hot pair of heels and get set to light up the room!
Average Customer Rating:
2.95 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
8 out of 20(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metallic marled sweater dress
Review 1 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
macngc
City: Grove City
State: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:December 11, 2012
dress is very flattering...material is light weight...probably should wear a slip with it...but I am warm most of the time, so the light weight is good with me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
luvinparis
City: Medina
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Itchy!
Date:December 11, 2012
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort
This garment runs small, is itchy and see through. Not long enough to be a dress , not short enough to wear with pants.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Barbsy
Metallic marled
Date:December 11, 2012
I never received this. I got a note it w sold out. I'd love to own it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kyoung1117
City: New Orleans
State: Louisiana
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Holiday wear
Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, dressy or casual
I have 3 Christmas Parties and a New Year's Eve Party to attend to this year. I figured this dress would be perfect for one of them. I also LOVE this dress because it has black and gold in it and I'm from New Orleasn and a HUGE Saints fan. This sweater dress is right on as far as size. I do agree with some reviews where they stated that the sleeves are al ittle tight, but they are not too tight for me to where the dress is uncomfortable. I find the dress is very comfortable. Being a sweater dress its not thick or heavy. The material is light (not see-thru) breathable and easy to move around in, not clingy at all! I am wearing this dress 2 different ways...leggings and flat boots and the other way which I thought looked a little bit dressier is with leggings and embelishment/sequins flats and wearing a long beaded necklace and long chandelier earrings. I hope this helps other customers with this dress. After reading some of these other reviews, it really scared me because I ordered the dress online, but I didn't want to cancel the order til I tried it on myself. I love this dress!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cccc
Runs very small
Date:December 10, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
This was about 2 sizes small even with ordering big. The larger size those was comfy and cute to wear out!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lah lah
City: Lansing
State: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Itchy and clingy
Date:December 7, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: Comfort
I usually go for this type of look - so, I was excited to see it out of the shipping bag....as pretty as it was in the picture, However, when I put it on, my skin flared up, got irritated, and it was clinging to every part of my body in all the wrong ways. True to size, but I think the fabric is awful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reader
City: San Antonio
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
I love this dress!
Date:November 24, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: snug in lower arms
I never would have bought this dress after reading the reviews, so I feel compelled to write one in the dress's defense. I usually wear 14/16 or 18/20. The 18/20 size fit me perfectly with enough room in the bust and hips, and enough material in the circumference of the hem to fall nicely in back without hugging the backside. Yes, the lower sleeve is a little snug, but there's plenty of room around the shoulder. I'm very sensitive to scratchy fabric and usually balk at metallics, but I don't find this dress objectionable. With a dressier belt than the self=belt it comes with, it looks much more expensive than it is. Just goes to show that we are all diverse, and thank you LB for giving us choices!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
greenpianokeys
City: Columbus
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Cute Dress, Bad Fit!
Date:November 18, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort, scratchy material
I love the look of this dress....love the v-neck, the shape, the length...everything....EXCEPT for the tight sleeves.
The dress fit me in a 14/16, but I couldn't get the sleeves past my forearms. The dress fit in an 18/20, but couldn't get the sleeves close to my elbow. I do not have fat arms. What gives, LB?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KDom
City: Ann Arbor
State: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Looks great on the hanger...
Date:November 17, 2012
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I wanted to love this dress., but was really disappointed.
First off, the fit is bad. The sleeves are waaaay too tight at the bottom, and there is no stretch in them.
The material is really, really scratchy. Probably due to the metallic thread, but I just don't think that clothes should literally hurt your skin.
The material is also really thin. Great, if you're looking for a lightweight dress, but not flattering for a curvy woman. It clings in all the wrong places, and if you have any lumps or bumps you'd like to disguise, this dress will really emphasize them. So I tried the dress with spanx...and it still felt really unflattering.
I'm bummed about this dress, and will be taking it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dylynnr
City: Stanhope
State: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Stay far far away from this dress
Date:November 15, 2012
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort, highlights flaws in figure
If you have any flaw at all, like a belly or medium arms, this dress will showcase EVERYTHING you don't want to show. Horrid dress, not sure why lane thought this would be a good idea.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
misskat
State: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
cute, but poor fit
Date:November 14, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
i tried this dress on in my usual size 18/20. it fit well in the bust, waist and hips, but as all the other reviews state, the sleeves are very tight. this helps keep the dolman shape, but makes it very uncomfortable. on top of that, the material is very scratchy. the fabric is thin, but not see through. you'd need to wear spanx with this since the light material tends to cling a little and shows every extra curve you may have. i like the style, but the fit and fabric were a huge miss.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LeeC
City: Boston
State: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
So sad
Date:November 13, 2012
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I am still upset about this dress! I loved the color and had been looking for a shimmery type of dress for the holidays and I was excited to get this! I got it in am 18/20 and the arms of the sleeve were just too small! I took it back to the store hoping I could fit in it better with a bigger size but even the biggest made the bottom of my arms feel tight! Such a shame because I had high hopes for this dress!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sammers
City: Philadelphia
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Adorable. Giv e it a chance
Date:November 13, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I was put off by the negative reviews, but luckily I tried this on in the store anyway. So so cute! Lightweight, festive without being over the top (it has gold shimmery thread running through it but it's not overtly sparkly or flashy), and super flattering and comfortable. I am an apple shape and I think that's the body type this works best on. It gives me a waist without clinging to my body too tightly. It does have dolman sleeves and the arms are on the tight side towards the bottom, but I LIKE that--when a dress like this has loose sleeves it looks old lady to me. I plan to wear this for my birthday and probably Christmas parties as well, with dark tights and wedges. I did go a size up from what I'd usually wear in a dress like this, just because the material's pretty thin.
Also worth mentioning, the woman in the store commented when she rang me up that this dress was FLYING off the shelves and that she was getting calls from other stores requesting sizes from customers. So it does seem to be really popular despite these reviews. If you want it, be sure to order it soon!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
harbrinn
City: Vero Beach
State: Florida
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
My new "sweatpant outfit" replacement
Date:November 11, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort, washes up nice fast drying!
Cons: Fit
This dress is like sitting in my pj's! I love it and wish there were more colors to choose from. Pefect for FL weather. Is thin so may make some feel like they're not getting enough coverage, but for warm weather it's perfect. If you added some tights it would look great as well and a pair of boots. Would work great under a jacket since the material is light.
This is going to be my new everyday dress, even for walking the dog!
The arms are a little tight, so maybe go up one size, and I'm only 5'2 so the length fits me fine but if you're tall you might just use this as a tunic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CupcakeShopper
City: Des Moines
State: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great dress
Date:November 10, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, dress up or down
Cons: slim sleeves may not work for some
Like another reviewer, I tried on this dress in the store when I wasn't even looking for something like this. I loved it, and so did the LB manager, who I frequently chit chat with and trust. It does have dolman sleeves, and the 3/4 sleeves are a slim fit, but that's the design. I have often tried on things that weren't for my body, and I guess this dress isn't for everyone's body. My middle is my trouble spot, so the top and sleeves fit me well. I'm going to have to Spanx it up for my middle to look its best, but I liked enough to buy the dress anyway. It's much prettier and less "gold sparkly" looking when wearing than it is on the hanger. I'm short, too, but the dress doesn't fit too long. Longer than the catalog model though!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
onyX716
City: Saint Louis
State: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Great Dress!
Date:November 4, 2012
Pros: Style, Comfort, very sexy
Cons: Fit
Okay, so I saw this dress online yesterday and decided not to buy it based on the reviews BUT...I went to the store today (totally unplanned) and I could not resist trying it on. SO GLAD I DID!! This dress is da bomb.com! Yes, I did go 2 sizes bigger so I will agree with the previous reviews on that point but it looks so great on my apple/diamond shape. Generally I wear a 16 or 18/20 but I needed a 22/24 in this; I'm top heavy. So, my suggestion would be just that; go bigger. The arms are tight but it simply puts me in mind of a dolman sleeve which suits apple shapes great. Yes, it's thin too. I tried it on with tights & intend to find a spansx type full body slip to wear with it-problem solved. You would not want this dress to be any 'heavier' than it is. So yes, its not a heavy of a knot as most sweater dressed but IT'S BEAUTIFUL!! If you like it just by seeing it online, don't hesitate buying before its too late!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MizzKim
City: Stanton
State: California
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cute Dress But...
Date:November 4, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
This is a nice dress if you have skinny arms. The 3/4 sleeves are a complete fail. I do not have big arms and the sleeves were super tight. It is also very thin, but the coverage appears to be pretty good. The rest of the dress fits beautifully. I was thinking about taking it to my tailor to shorten the sleeves, but I don't think that will work with this type of material. If the sleeves worked, I would have given this dress a 5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ochee
City: Binghamton
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Nice design - poorly executed
Date:November 2, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort, runs small, itchy material
I was excited to see this dress in the store and grabbed a 14/16 to try on. I noticed right away that the material was very thin and that I would have to wear a slip under it but I tried it on as is.
The dress is very tight around the arms/shoulders area . It made me feel like I had limited arm movement. It is also very small and clung to every roll and curve. I would up size to an 18/20 or even a 22/24 if I had decided to buy the dress.
The material does have metallic threading so it was a bit scratchy to me.
The dress was a bit short on me [5' 10" tall] and I would not feel comfortable wearing it even with tights.
Overall it looks great in the photo .. not so much in person.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mainemomma
City: Fort Worth
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Not a sweater dress
Date:November 1, 2012
Cons: Fit, Style
As the other reviewer said this dress is very thin. Also the arms are super tight! Not a the top of the arm but the three quarter length part of the sleeve.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Metallic marled sweater dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kr123
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:October 27, 2012
Pros: Style
This dress is extremely thin!! You could see my bra through it. Not at all a sweater dress, as described. It is as pictured and is adorable- just wish it was thicker! It was a return.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.