LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Surplice sweater

Curve-flattering sweater makes the most of your shape with a stitched surplice front and wide ribbed hem. The sexy deep neckline layers over a cami perfectly. Versatile style dresses up for the office and is just right for a pulled-together weekend ensemble.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surplice sweater
Review 1 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Renae M
City: Compton
State: California
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:July 25, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This is not a stylish top
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mel1
City: Brooklyn
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
What a steal
Date:July 23, 2013
Pros: Style
Love the feel of the fabric, I'm yet to wear it. But it will be a staple for the fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeenyS
City: Albuquerque
State: New Mexico
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Thin but perfect, really
Date:July 22, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I don't think I've ever seen such a thin sweater! It's see through too. I don't want a heavy sweater so I was pleased. I will wear this over many things, it's a nice layering piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sherim
City: MARION
State: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
comfortable, cool to wear summer evenings
Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
EXCELLENT LOVE LOVE IT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrewJLF
City: Fairfax
State: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Very Comfortable, thin material.
Date:July 3, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: thin material
I like this sweater a lot. It is comfortable to wear and works with my LARGE collection of the lace trim camis which are my go-to layer for color these days. The only thing I didn't like was the material is thin. This is happening a lot with LB items lately. Some are wonderfully made like in the past, others not so much. For summer it works because a thicker material would be too hot but I'm expecting it won't wash well over time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dkatwdsd
City: Prospect
State: Kentucky
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Neckline is too deep
Date:March 3, 2013
Cons: Style, v neckline is too deep
I found the V neckline of this sweater to be too deep. It looks odd. I bought it to wear with a blouse. Too much shirt in the front showing. Maybe if you wear it with a sweater or turtleneck, it might look better. Also, the part of the sleeve at the wrist is long and almost feels like it needs to be rolled. I am returning it. The fit is true to size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Audrey Elizabeth
City: phoenix
State: Arizona
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great look
Date:March 3, 2013
Pros: Comfort
I got alot of compliments when I wore this combination dot cami/sweater. Make me feel younger than I am....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellastorm
Comfortable
Date:February 1, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
This sweater is very comfortable as the fabric is very soft. It is lightweight so it layers beautifully. The size is perfect although I wish I had gotten it in the blue as the grayish color is slightly drab. Nothing a bright cami underneath can't solve.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MBirtwistle
Great Light Sweater
Date:January 3, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
It's a perfect sweater to compliment any outfit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMmom
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Great sweater
Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort, Style
This sweater is flattering and soft. I wore it with the suggested cami and was comfortable all day. It did not stretch or loose shape while wearing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kjgian
Date:December 29, 2012
Pros: Comfort
Very nice fabric.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mickeycruiser
Very flattering
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I bought this sweater as well as the cami shown with it. Loved it so much I just purchased it in another color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCharles
City: Dallas
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Love it.
Date:December 18, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
It fits great. Looks great. I'm very happy with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fanilow
Date:December 15, 2012
Love the sweater, but I thought the cami was part of the sweater. It matched perfectly. I was disapointed with that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEVERDROPWHENISHOP
City: funky town
State: California
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
JUST RIGHT
Date:December 9, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This is the perfect little sweater, layer it with a cute cami and you are on your way. Looks great with jeans or a jean skirt, the colors are nice and i would definitely recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cuteNcuddly
City: Lafayette
State: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Comfy BUT
Date:December 6, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Cons: Style, large band at base of sleeve
This sweater is great becuz its not to thick its loose which is perfect for something made for layering. But it has really awkward large bands at the bottom of the sleeve that is almost the length of your forearm its not to stylish in that since. But i just keep the sleeve pulled up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Surplice sweater
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bloggerbecky
City: Cincinnati
State: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Very flattering
Date:December 6, 2012
Pros: Style
This faux-wrap style sweater is very flattering! It does run a little on the large side, but sizing down would probably make it accentuate the lumps and bumps I'm trying to hide (haha). It looked surprisingly good belted over a sheath dress, just FYI. Excellent purchase, especially if you can snag on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.