LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Luna Lace Dress

If you love our Smitten Lace Top then you will just adore our Luna Lace Dress! With the same amazing lace and mesh backing to hide nude bra straps; this dress ups the ante in feminine style. The ruched torso hides tummy troubles and a slightly full A-line skirt will give you a fabulous hourglass-like shape.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
16 out of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Luna Lace Dress
Review 1 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kdg3608
City: Columbus
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Beautiful dress
Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: price
I've been eyeballing this dress for months and months. I had a wedding to go to over the weekend and had finally decided to purchase it. To be honest the only thing that kept me from buying it sooner and in every color was the price tag. Even after I purchased it and loved it I'm still having buyers remorse. Aside from that, it is a really nice dress. It is VERY comfortable. Forgiving where you need it to be. I thought the length was great and I loved the scoop neck and 3/4 sleeves. It wasn't too heavy and it flowed nicely. I got a lot compliments on it. I see a lot of reviews complain about the nude backing. Now, I agree I don't really love that part but they did it so you can't see your undergarments. So you have the choice of the nude backing, having your bra straps peeking through, or struggling with a strapless. I didn't mind it and found it easy to look over. It's a great all around dress for an event or even just a simple date ..it's not too over the top. I'm not a dress girl and didn't feel like I wanted to rip it off and find my jeans and tshirt in the first 20 minutes. I looked for a long time all over at many sites trying to find an alternative to this dress and couldn't find one. If you're like me, just buy it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ilovemycurves
City: columbia
State: Tennessee
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
My husband HATED it!
Date:January 27, 2014
Pros: looked nice on model
Cons: Style, Fit, Comfort
When I ordered this dress I was excited because it looks so beautiful on the model in the picture. I was trying my best to find something that would be new and sexy for Valentines day. It finally came in the mail and I took it out of the box and was right away unhappy because the lace has a nude color backing that was way darker than my skin. I'm not really pale but I also don't have a sun kissed tan. Also this nude color backing is only around the chest area and not on the arms. I put it on still in high hopes it would at least look good on me and I though maybe I could somehow hide the fact that the backing didn't match my skin tone. It was a snug fit (so it's NOT true to size) and no I didn't gain weight because I just lost 10lbs so the dress should have fit perfect. The worst part was that the flow of the dress made my hips look HUGE! I looked like humpty dumpty. I was hesitant to let my husband see me in the dress but he was itching to see so I let him come into the room. At first he just looked at me and then he said that the dress made me look like I put on a few extra pounds and then he noticed the nude backing behind the lace. He started laughing and said that it looked like I had a bad spray tan job. That was it, I knew the dress was going back. Unfortunately because it's a Kiyonna dress you can't take it to the store. You HAVE to mail it back. Stay away from this dress if you don't want to look like you smuggling pillows on your hips.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mek8
City: Pensacola
State: Florida
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Big Gal friendly
Date:November 27, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I'm a big girl and it's hard to find a pretty dress that makes you look good and feel good. I felt beautiful in this dress and yet it was very comfortable. I was at a friend's wedding and was able to easily shoot photos in this dress. All night long I was complimented on how beautiful the dress was. And I didn't have to fidget making sure the bra straps didn't show because of the nude backing under the lace made it look sexy and daring.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
atxlady
City: Austin
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Fit was too tight
Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
I purchased this dress and a couple of others to try for my husband's holiday party. The others in size 3 fit perfectly (from the same designer) but this was too tight. Also, I didn't love the lace. It will be going back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabalicious
****HONEST REVIEW****
Date:November 2, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: Item not as described
I got this dress for a wedding. I am 4 months pregnant and I couldn't find anything worth buying in maternity clothes so I got this dress. I had to get a size up after reading the other reviews and it fits like a glove! The lace part on the top is flesh toned(if your pale white the color will not match your skin) I love the dress, but it is not worth the price. It flatters the top of your body, but makes the hips look wide. The stomach portion is comfortable and is stretchy. It's worth it if your in a time crunch and need something quick and comfortable like I did! Hope this helps!:)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheButterfly
City: Charlotte
State: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
BitterSweeT
Date:November 1, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: too pricey
After much contemplation, I ordered this dress for an event. I was desperate and few options in store were available. This dress is lovely, elegant and comfortable. Overall, I am pleased with the purchase. The fit was spot- on and as soon as I tried it on, my family gave me glowing compliments.
Is the dress worth the money I paid? NO. The material is not of great quality- it's good but not great. . Let's face it, Kiyonna dresses are overpriced and Kiyonna has cornered the market on nice, upscale dresses because no one, not even Lane Bryant ,offers the same quality & style as Kiyonna.
Before I purchased , the dress i swung by Lane Bryant and tried on another dress- The Brocade Print Dress. It was same story that is all too common with lane Bryant nowdays - The dress was too short ! I'm only 5"8 1/2 and it was not even knee gazing- it was more like thigh gazing. I was very disappointed. Come on Lane Bryant, Step it up. I truly wish Lane Bryant would offer fashionable clothes again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alanrutabaga1986
City: Tucson
State: Arizona
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Elegant, Perfect for any Formal Occasion
Date:September 18, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I bought this for a military ball that my husband took me to and it looked fabulous. The only complaint I have is my normal issue, the bust area was not big enough. I went by the measurement chart and fell within the range of wearing a 0X. In retrospect I should have gotten a 1X to accommodate my chest. Do keep in mind though that I'm 36 inches around and wear a G cup, so you can easily see my issue. It was flattering everywhere else and was a beautifully elegant length. So my advice is if you have a large chest go ahead and get the next size up. Other than that, awesome purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Blondeisius
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Mesh on top is not flattering
Date:September 10, 2013
I bought this dress (3x) several months ago for a wedding that Im in. I had no idea that there was mesh at the top. It doesnt match my skin tone however I kept the dress too long and now cant return it. The fabric is also very costume-like. I was very unhappy with it and have only a few months to find another dress. I feel the dress was also very overpriced.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kaytecooks
State: California
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Date:July 4, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit, Item not as described, mesh lining on the top
I fell in love with this dress the moment I saw it and new it would be perfect to wear to my brother's upcoming wedding. I bought it in the grey/twilight color and it when it came I thought I had been sent the wrong dress. It was more purple than it is grey. I wear a size 20 pants and 18/20 top in Lane Bryant clothes and since this is a new designer for me I bought a 1 and a 2 just to be safe. I tried the 2 on first and it was a little snug on my arms and around my stomach, but totally wearable. Also, there is a skin tones color lining at the top on the front and the back. This tone doesn't match my skin tone and doesn't look flattering on me. I will be returning both sizes and starting over in finding a dress. At least I have a month.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yellow Rose
City: Austin
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Mother of the bride
Date:May 10, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: price
I needed dress in purple color shades for daughter's wedding. The plum is a little darker than picture but that is okay. The dress looks great on me. Feels very soft and comfortable. I like the dress but think for the price was too high for the quality of the dress. There were other dresses cheaper I would have went with if had the color I needed. A plus for this dress is I have to travel for the wedding and I think it will pack and travel well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brette
City: Lincoln
State: Nebraska
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: Online
Beautiful dress!
Date:April 4, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Cons: ugly skin colored mesh lining
I bought this dress in blue for a concert I'm giving, and I am in love with it! It's a lot more teal than it is in the picture, which in my opinion makes it even more beautiful! It fits me like a glove and is just the right length. I had to alter it and remove the mesh lining under the lace because it looked awful. It was way too dark for my skin color, but all in all it's beautiful. After alterations, I am extremely happy with it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Olive
City: Austin
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Horrible Quality
Date:April 1, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: quality
I received the first dress with a hole. The second dress arrived fine and was a great fit. I wore the dress for 4 hours and there are holes in one arm making it unable to wear again. Also fringes hanging all over like elastic ones. I am so mad I spent this kind of money for such horrible quality item. Do not buy it it looks great on but it not for the price. I wish I could return it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jacrael
State: Pennsylvania
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love this dress
Date:March 22, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I bought the black version of this dress and I am completely in love with this dress. I have received many compliments when wearing it. I think it fits and looks very beautiful!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GIRLFRI3ND
Age: 35-44
SAVE YOURSELF!!
Date:March 16, 2013
Cons: overpriced, bad smelll, kiyonna's extremely short return policy, did i mention overpriced and smells bad., cheap
THIS DRESS IS OVER PRICED. ALTHOUGH IT IS COMFORTABLE, THE QUALITY IS VERY POOR. ALSO, I DON'T KNOW WHERE THE DRESS WAS STORED, BUT IT SMELLED BAD!! UNFORTUNATELY, I MISSED THE RETURN DEADLINE WHICH WAS ONLY 30 DAYS FROM THE DAY IT WAS SHIPPED TO ME. I WASN'T ABLE TO RETURN IT. :o( LIVE AND LEARN.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed Mom
So disappointed
Date:March 15, 2013
Pros: Fit
Cons: Style
I was so disappointed in this dress. I bought this dress with high hopes of wearing it to a wedding. The dress was not flattering and did not fit like it showed in the picture. The size was right and it fit fine, just looked matronly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dublinsmom
City: Apalachin
State: New York
POOR QUALITY & OVERPRICED
Date:March 10, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Cons: poor quality & overpriced
I purchased this dress in the Blue color. The color was EXACTLY as it shows on the screen, it is a pretty color, but definitely "teal", not blue.
The dress fits over the head and is stretchy. Because the dress is stretchy, it fits well and is very comfortable. For the price ($158), I was expecting it to be a really nice quality, but the fabric is a very poor quality - I'm afraid it would snag on a ring, chair, etc. and it would rip the "lace" that isn't really lace at all. The dress looks nice from a distance, but you know when you're wearing it that the quality is just not what you want it to be.
I had a number of coupons - buy one get one free, 20% off and $10 off - I did not expect to be able to use more than one coupon on this dress, but I was unable to use ANY of the coupons.
I had the dress shipped to my local LB store to avoid paying the shipping cost - I tried it on while at the store and another person saw the dress and wanted to try it on. We were both looking for a dress in this price range for a special occasion. We just thought the material was of POOR QUALITY and overall, the dress was OVERPRICED for the quality.
I am EXTREMELY disappointed with this dress, but will be wearing another LB dress that was priced at $80, (that I was able to use my 1/2 off coupon on and paid $40) instead of this lower quality $158 dress.
THIS DRESS IS BEING RETURNED, but I am happy with Lane Bryant and will continue to shop at the local Lane Bryant store.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Asher
Date:February 18, 2013
Cons: Fit, Item not as described
I was highly disappointed by the purchase of this dress. It would have been PERFECT for my engagement photos. However, when it arrived, the fit was poor (I did perhaps go a size too large, so size down) and the quality of fabric was not worth the price. In addition, there is a dark colored lining in the chest/shoulders of the lace part that is supposed to blend with your skin. I must be really pale, but there was an obvious difference in the lace at my arms and the lace on my shoulders. The waistband was the baggiest part and did not fit well around my middle. I was so sad, but it had to go. And if you don't like it, it must be returned by mail. It can't go back to a Lane Bryant store. It wasn't worth the price paid, nor for the postage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DenimDiva
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
So worth the money
Date:January 24, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This dress is flat-out gorgeous. I am typically a size 22 in dresses and jeans, and I ordered a 22 in this dress. It was a little snug when first putting it on, but once I got it over my boobs it was fine. I probably could do with a 24 in this, but the 22 is fine.
I ordered the blue color, which isn't quite as "formal" looking as the black probably does. It's a pretty blue, kind of like a "cornflower" blue (if you're a Crayola kid, like me). It really gives you an hourglass figure as one other reviewer said, and the band hits right at the waist.
It's one of the most flattering fits I've ever tried out - I can't wait to find an occasion to actually wear it now ;-) It's so totally worth the money. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Windy City
Demure and classy LBD
Date:January 24, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort, classic style
PERFECT dress to have on hand--funerals, weddings, theater, evening out. Classic silhouette that makes the waist look small.
Less quality fabric than I thought but it isn't obvious so you can get away with it. Sizing wise, I ordered the 1X & 0X to give it a try. I generally hover between 14W and 16W. The 0X was a squeeze that could have worked but the 1X was much more comfortable.
The surprise twist was that the underskirt was actually about 1/4 - 1/2" longer than the skirt- and uneven all around. I had it hemmed up so that it tucked under the skirt.
This LBD is like an insurance policy for unplanned events that you need to look great for- works with or without jewelry, hair up or down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Luna Lace Dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ghosts
State: California
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Wow.
Date:January 23, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
My only criticism for this dress is that it is not the length pictured. I'm 5'10" and this dress was skimming mid-calf. I can probably adjust it if I play around with the ruching, so it's not really even a con in my book.
That being said, this dress is wonderful. I'm a fat gal with an apple shape, and I swore off dresses because I could never find one that didn't make me look completely shapeless. This dress? I have a noticeable waist. It lengthens my torso and makes me look slimmer, and the skirt doesn't hang off my frame like a stiff lamp shade.
I can't say I look like an hourglass (I have pretty narrow shoulders and a small bust), but I definitely don't look in the mirror and see all stomach. I didn't even have to wear Spanx. Both of those are a first.
If this is how all of Kiyonna's clothes are, this dress made me a customer for life.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>