LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

One piece retro maillot swimsuit

Retro-inspired maillot swimsuit features flattering shirred sides and a pleated bust. Stay perky in the pool with built-in molded, underwire cups for great support. Versatile straps can tie as a halter or cross in back to suit your style.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Review 1 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
State: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:May 7, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
Fits a little tighter than I was expecting, but love the style and will lose a few pounds so that it fits better!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
misskat
State: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
small cups
Date:April 9, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
i really wish lb would design 1-pc suits with boobs in mind. like other 1-pc suits i've tried, the cups in this suit are just too small. i bought this suit last year when i was a sz 18, 42dd. i bought a 20 and it fit well everywhere except the cups where i was busting out (pun intended). despite that, it gave great support. my best guess is the cups in the sz 20 suit were maybe a C cup. when it comes to plus sized suits, and considering the bra sizes lb sells, i would expect D cup to be standard in 1-pc suits.
as for the rest of the suit, it fits tight, but well. it smooths out the tummy and gives nice shape. i would prefer if the straps were a little longer and had less fabric. they're perfect for a halter, but i need straps and for that, the ties were a little short and bulky.
despite all my issues, i'd still recommend the suit. on someone with a small-average bust, this suit could look amazing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joey60
City: Glendale
State: Arizona
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:March 24, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
I love this suite, and the color is beautiful. The swimsuit on did not appear 100% like the models in the picture. The suit doesn't have all of the fabric folds on me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kingfan1978
State: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Avoid if you've got some belly bumps
Date:March 20, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort, not for lumpy bellies
This suit looks super cute in the pic but in retrospect, I think it's because the model doesn't have much of a belly. I'm a size 18 & I've got a couple of belly rolls. I was hoping the ruching would help hide a few things but this suit COMPLETELY accentuated the imperfections. From the rib cage up, it was cute.
Also, as other reviews have stated, getting into it the first time was a real chore. Once it was on, it fit fine. I may try the next size up to see if it helps but I'm not counting on it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Stella Belle
City: Columbus
State: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Worst Swimsuit
Date:March 19, 2013
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort
If you have any type of a stomach, don't buy this suit. Not only was it hard to pull up under your arms, it makes it look like you have a beach ball as a stomach. I thought the ruching would help - it does not! The back rolls down, and if you try to use the loops with the ties, well forget about doing it yourself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bs001
Date:March 16, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
I wish the back of this bathing suit came up a little higher in the back but overall it's amazing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
love this suit
Age: 25-34
Date:March 8, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I love the way this fits, it holds all my tummy rolls in place so i dont feel like the whole world can see them. It was a bit tight to put on and i didnt think it would fit but once i pulled it up and got all situated in it i felt wonderful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
8KATLADY
City: Dallas
State: Texas
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
Date:March 8, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
This bathing suit looked great in the picture, however, when trying it on, it was about 2 sizes too small. I have recently lost a lot of weight and my size is running between a 12 and a 14, and this bathing suit was WAY TOO SMALL!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Curvy girl
Bust runs small
Date:March 5, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
This is a good suit, but better for someone of average bust size., like a B or C cup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LovelyLadyLumps
Not for DDD girls
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
This suit had great potential. I love the rushing and the bust looked like it could show off the girls beautifully. However, the cups are way too small, so this suit does not fit larger chested ladies :( I was severely disappointed!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jules6113
City: Albany
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love it!
Date:February 19, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit
I already have this in the punk and I love it! I had to get the blue for my honeymoon since it is my fiancé favorite color! It is very flattering and gives you a nice shape.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VermontSummerGirl
City: Champlain Islands
State: Vermont
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
maybe
Date:February 17, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I am 5'11'' at 189 and got this suit, I love the color and the style but sadly it was way too short for my torso and I thought that the bra area was awkward, it definitely made my bust look super small and it seemed to be quite confining. I did not find it to look attractive only because the suit makes my bust look so small that it makes my body look weird too. Maybe if you had a chest larger than 36 DD you would like this suit but then again I would be skeptical as to if it would even fit a larger bust size than mine. I was saddened that I had to return it but they style for my body was just not there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NurseDDD
State: Florida
Age: 45-54
Poor Fit
Date:February 16, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, bad odor
The bust area is much too small despite purchasing a larger size to accommodate the "girls". Also, the suit had a very odd odor, much like vinegar. Sorry to say, I had to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StylishPsyDr
City: Long Beach
State: California
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
MOST FLATTERING SUIT EVER!!!
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I bought this suit last year in black & white, and boy was I pleasantly surprised with the fit!! The suit is very true to size., but if you find yourself in between sizes (i.e. 14-16 or 18-20) i'd say go with the smaller size as the material seems to give a tiny bit after a day in the water.
I was in between sizes wearing a 18-20 up top and 20-22 on the bottom and I went with the size 20 suit.
Was some work getting on the first time, but a cinch every time thereafter.
The suit held my tummy in nicely without killing me and made my boobs look AMAZING!! The underwire was surprisingly comfortable and sized proportionate to the suit. (bra size 40DDD )
The bottom half of the suit is kinda made like a slightly fitted yet flattering skort. I like this feature because it allowed me adjust the length of the skort without compromising the look of the suit. The material was just long enough to cover the uppermost back of my thighs which was another pleasant surprise.
The versatility of the straps is another added bonus. Crossing the straps in the back gave me the look of a halter from the front, and protection from the infamous rolling down of the top in the back.
Hopefully LB launches more colors because I surely plan on keeping this suit in my arsenal :-)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PaigeMariah
State: Ohio
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
This suit makes me feel sexy!
Date:January 31, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: straps
Okay. I've had this bathing suit for two years. As far as holding up on wear and tear, it's done well! I had one of the straps I had to kind of reinforce with a needle and thread, but it hasn't faded. I got the red one.
I'm a size 16, and it was pretty true to size.
I love the way I look in it, it's the first time ever I have felt comfortable in a bathing suit.
The shirring in the waist definitely helps make you look slim, and gives you a waist. The underwire in it is gonna hold the girls in place., no saggy boobs!
I love that you can make this suit either a halter or a regular two strap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.