LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Retro dot balconette swim tank

You've got the curves, you've got the confidence, now rock your pin-up style with this retro-inspired polka dot swim tank. With the famous support of our best-selling balconette bra, this sexy swim top holds your shape with lightly-molded underwire cups and versatile convertible straps. Playful polka dot pattern, banded sweetheart neckline and seamed cups complete this sassy swim essential. Try it with the matching Polka Dot Swim Hipster (sold separately), or pair with your favorite swim bottoms for a custom look.
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
4 out of 12(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Review 1 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
torri1345
City: Provo
State: Utah
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store
No Support Whatsoever
Date:May 13, 2013
Cons: Fit, Style, Item not as described
I thought this top would be supportive due to the built in bra. I tried on a 44DD and I usually wear a 42DDD. The suit fit perfectly around the band and cups but the strap could not be tied tight enough to support my bust. Unless you have boobs that naturally stay up in place (in which case, why the built in bra?) This is not the suit for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kateland
State: Florida
Age: Under 25
A little big but an easy fix
Date:May 7, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I usually wear a 38 DDD I bought this in a 40 DD as that was all they had. it was too big around as expected but I took the sides in right where the band is and now have excellent support. I have no issues with the back staying clasped either. I love the top and am happy I tried another size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gazi225
So big
Date:April 30, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
I bought the same size as my Lane Bryant bras and other swim suits I have from them. The band was about six inches too big, it fell right off of my body. Doesn't come in a smaller size so I had to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1423paula
City: conroe
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
defective
Date:April 22, 2013
as the lady stated above..this item along with all of the other with the same snap in back will not stay snapped i purchased one similar to this same issue over the weekend i went to store to return and tried several of this style as well as this one . they are defective!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee123
So Cute!
Date:April 21, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This retro looking swimsuit top is adorable!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tmc1
City: DFW
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
not supportive
Date:April 20, 2013
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort
I bought this online because they didn't have my size in store. I tried it on and the clasp in the back wouldn't stay clasped, very poor design. It did not provide enough support for my breasts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BeccaBuys
City: Hendersonville
State: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Just LOVE this!
Date:April 2, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: not as form fitting as i would like.
I bought this with the black polka dotted board shorts which gives me that pinup style I love! The top is a little more flowy than I would like. I like it form fitted to the body, but it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seelooshop
So disappointed
Date:March 19, 2013
I was so excited about this tank as styled with the polka dot board shorts. But, like others have said, the tank fits like a maternity top and just doesn't work as pictured.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bluechick
City: Boston
State: Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Blouses out too much
Date:March 14, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
The bra detail is adorable and even though I didn't need another suit, I ordered it. Unfortunately, the sides really blouse out (and that's usually not something that happens with my body shape). I thought maybe I'd go down a cup size since with balconettes I can usually wear a C (usually a D in other styles, I have no idea why). However, this only comes in two C sizes at the moment and both are too big band-wise so that's not an option. I'll have to return it. Really too bad b/c I love the retro styling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
melisssa
City: portland
State: Maine
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: Online
big, no support
Date:March 13, 2013
Cons: Fit
i bought a few swimsuits from here at the same time. i loooved the other styles, but this one was terrible. i had to check and make sure i wasn't sent the wrong size. it's huge, for one, and while it technically has underwire, there is NO support from the band or the halter. too bad because it looks so cute in the picture. there is absolutely no way i would wear this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Party mama
State: Georgia
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great structured bra inside
Date:March 12, 2013
Pros: Comfort, Style
Cons: Fit
Well fitted bra in suit but the rest of the material gives the top an over all look of Maternity swim top.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Retro dot balconette swim tank
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
andredeuce
City: Dallas
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cute in the picture...
Date:March 12, 2013
Top blouses out too much to be tucked into the shorts as shown in the catalog picture. Odd fitting on what would be the same size of the LB bra I usually wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.