LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Smooth balconette bra

In a smooth, seamless fabric for no-show under clothes, our best-selling balconette bra offers sexy lift and excellent support with lightly-molded cups, hidden underwires and padded straps for comfort. Sheer mesh back keeps you cool and comfortable. Adjustable straps and hook & eye back closure.
Average Customer Rating:
3.44 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
14 out of 25(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smooth balconette bra
Review 1 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not smelling like roses
City: orlando
State: Florida
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
SMELLS LIKE CAT Urine! WORST OFF-GASSING FOAM EVER
Date:May 14, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: foam smells like cat urine
I love this bra. Have bought it for years. With my last order from May 2014 the bras that came smell horrid. I was walking around my house looking where the smell of cat Urine was coming from and finally after days of looking I discovered it was coming from my new bras. They have been washed multiple times and they still smell the same. This is the first time I have had this issue. I bought two different colors so it is not the fabric but must be the foam. Horrid, horrid smell!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from LANE BRYANT:By Lane BryantMay 15, 2014
We're so sorry to hear about the issue with this bra. If you need help with your return or exchange, feel free to contact Customer Service at 866-886-4731.
Review 2 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CHAYES
City: MARY LAND
State: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
NOT THE WORST, NOT THE BEST
Date:August 20, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
IT DOES LIFT. LOVE THE VARIETY OF COLORS . THE CUP SIZE SEEMS A LITTLE LARGE WHILE THE BAND SEEMS A LITTLE SMALL. I JUST HATE THAT ORDERED ALL COLORS MINUS TAGES AND RECEIPT. NOT HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ScruffyPaws
City: Chicago
State: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Not the "REAL" Smooth Balconette Bra
Date:August 9, 2013
Cons: Fit, Comfort, Item not as described, size runs small
For at least the last 8 years I have worn no other bras except the Smooth Balconette Bra from Lane Bryant. This, however, is NOT the same bra. There are many changes, but most notably the straps are thinner are not comfortable and the sizing runs smaller than the original. I spent years trying to find a comfortable bra that fit and was supportive. I am so disappointed and hope this isn't the future for the Smooth Balconette Bra. I see
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hampton girl
City: Hampton
State: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Excellent Bra
Date:July 18, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Balconettes are my favorite bras! Great support yet very comfortable!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
miss chelsea
City: Indianapolis
State: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
just what I wanted
Date:July 16, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I really like these bras, especially the straps that do not slide down off my shoulders all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maureen
State: New York
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
So upset with the changes!!
Date:July 13, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort, no side support!!!!
I can say that I'm angry right now. It has taken me YEARS to find the "right" bra and I HAD found it about 5 yrs ago when I found the smooth balconette. I have worn NO other bra since. But recently, there have been LESS than desirable design changes that I cannot and will not accept. I currently own about 15 Cacique bras and I think I'm done! There is NO side support anymore! I just went into the store to exchange a bra that I bought the wrong style (some time ago). I had purchased bras lately that I hated the way they fit but I figured it out after this last bra. There is NO side boning and NO top line support. The sides do nothing but roll down on me. I don't know one single full figured woman who doesn't NEED this support! I just removed the tags from this bra and now I can't return it - or the 4 others I just bought. I had been so happy with this bra that I don't even try them on in store any longer. I know my size and style preferences. What a mistake on my part. I'm now stuck with bras I can't and won't wear! I think I'm finally done with Cacique bras! So very sad because I was so very happy with them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
School Mom
City: Altamonte
State: Florida
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
TOO SMALL
Date:July 11, 2013
Cons: Style, Fit, Comfort
This bra was sized much too small! too tight in both cup and body.
ALSO, I HATE not having a local store to go to anymore. Too far to drive to the nearest store location. May have to find somewhere else to shop for my bras. They are closing down mall stores all over the country and it is too hard to get a good fit from online purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spete
Shopping Preference: Online
Ouch!
Date:July 11, 2013
I bought 4 of these bras online without trying them on. I have bought the smooth balconette bras before and I thought I was getting the same. When I received them, I tried them on and the wires dug into my sides. Ouch! I have been properly measured for bras and knew something was up. When I returned them to the store, the ladies told me that these are not the same that they carry in store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boulder holder 2
State: Tennessee
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Date:July 11, 2013
Pros: Comfort
Cons: not enough colors in my size
I love this style I have every color available in my size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
City: Shalimar
State: Florida
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Best bras for large busted women
Date:July 5, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Love these bras! Only ones I will buy! Please always keep the smooth balconette bra in stock! Fit is amazing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajbur
State: Illinois
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Great Bra
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
LOVE this bra. Both supportive and attractive. Form and function at its best!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EastCoastTwang
City: Arlington
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Will Always Love
Date:June 30, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
The first time I tried this style I found love! I will always love this style and brand for its comfort, beauty, and overall construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheeky
City: San Jose
State: California
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Worst bra I've ever bought from LB
Date:June 24, 2013
Cons: Fit, Style, durability/construction
I bought this bra recently, and the first thing I noticed is the weird, shiny material, which was not what I was expecting. The bra straps are also very thin compared to other LB bras- they weren't uncomfortable, but they didn't sit as well on my shoulders. But the main reason I rated this bra poorly is that on my SECOND wear, the underwires (both!) started poking out of the center of the bra, tearing right throughout the fabric. I have never had this problem with another bra, and I will be returning it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PamelaK
City: Traverse City
State: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Best Lift Around!!
Date:June 6, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort, uplifting
Cons: straps slip
I love these bras!! Had breast surgery a few years ago and since then these are the only bras I wear...just can't find anything else that compares.
My only complaint would be with the straps...they tend to slip off the shoulder quite a bit...have tried everything to fix this, but alas I will live with it because of what the "cups" do for the "girls"!!
I have turned several of my friends onto these bras and they are in love with them as much as I.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gladstone gal
City: Gladstone
State: Missouri
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Very comfortable bra
Date:June 6, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Good support & comfortable, doesn't show under tops.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cruzan33
State: Florida
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Date:June 6, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Fits very well and give me a nice lift.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris46
City: Sarasota
State: Florida
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online and by phone
Best bra
Date:May 25, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Fits great and the wire does not dig in. Being a big girl the mesh material in the back helps it breathe. Looks awesome under t-shirts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busylady
I always come back to this style
Date:May 25, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Great deal, best bras for busty girls. They work great under any shirt material and do not wear out! I do not get the support and lift without spillage from any other bras and I have tried many over time!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emelissa
State: Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Gives great lift and support
Date:May 24, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
Puts the girls up where they should be. Well supportive. And looks good. Only drawback is the back rolls up, needs 2 be worn higher on the back 2 prevent rolling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smooth balconette bra
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SassySal
State: Massachusetts
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Uncomfortable
Date:May 18, 2013
Cons: Fit, Comfort
First I tried 44C my usual size, it was too small. So I bought 46C , tried it and returned. Way too uncomfortable. I felt like I was being forced into a shape that was impossible to achieve comfortably. It was also way too padded for me . I t might work for other women.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>