LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Brocade surplice dress

Brightening your season with shimmering brocade, our curve-loving surplice dress is a stunning choice for your next event! Sexy V-neckline and elastic waist accentuate all your positives, with a skinny belt to add flattering waist definition. Fully lined.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brocade surplice dress
Review 1 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ms woman
City: Yeadon
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Smedium
Date:March 15, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I liked the dress and because it was on sale made it even more appealing. However I found the dress to be tight across the bustline and in the waist. Other than than it was a good buy. I"m going to hold on to it and see if I'm in a better place physically by the summer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Erinn
Do they think their customers don't have chests?
Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I love the fabric of this dress, I loved the fit & length of the skirt and waist. However, there was no way "the girls" were fitting into the bust. It's partly my fault for not trying it on, but I have been the same size at Lane Bryant forever, so I assumed the usual would work. Not so much. It's like they designed the dress for a flat chested, round tummy girl. There aren't a lot of those out there. Unfortunately as it was a clearance item I wasn't able to get a replacement. Oh well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ebonyemma
City: philadelphia
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Every event dress
Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
A DRESS THAT I CAN USE FOR CHURCH , A WEDDING, DINNER DATE GOING TO A SHOW ETC...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKT33
City: St. Louis
State: Missouri
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Sweet & Chic
Date:March 2, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This dress is AWESOME! The fit is absolutely true to size and the belt helps to cinch your waist in at just the right spot. The fabric isn't an overly heavy, stiff, upholstery type jacquard...it has a nice weight and movement. This is a great special occasion or date night dress that isn't tpp fussy and it looks like you've worked hard to get ready when you really haven't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SHRN
City: WILLOW GROVE
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
GREAT PURCHASE
Date:February 27, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
GREAT FIT. I LOVE THE DRESS, VERY COMFORTABLE.
EASY TO WEAR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimco1
Very stylish
Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: belt to tight
Love this dress it turn out better than I expected once I put the accessories with it. Definitely recommend . One con belt too tight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CKane
State: Georgia
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
Dress it up, dress it down
Date:February 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Love this dress, it can be dressed up or dressed down with shawls and accessories. It is true to size as well as comfortable, it will be a go to dress for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miss N
City: San Diego
State: California
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Feeling fabulous
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Saw the dress online and loved it, so I just bought it and when I picked up at the store, I tried it on. LOVE the way it fits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baby Ruthie
City: chicago
State: Illinois
Age: 55-65
Cute dress, great price!
Date:February 4, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This dress looks just like the picture. Fits great. Got 4 stars because the belt looks a little cheap. Got a sparkly wider belt and it makes the dress look even better. Usually I have trouble finding a dress I like, so I am very happy with this one. The easiest dress I ever bought! Good if you are a little hippy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KindaGirlyGirl
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Just try it on - looks better on V/S on hanger!
Date:February 1, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I really liked the brocade fabric of this dress in spite it being sleeveless (some of us like/want sleeves, Lane Bryant! LOL!), but I thought it looked dull on the hanger. However, when I tried it on, I fell in love. The shimmery brocade fabric is gorg without being too blingy/glittery. It's pretty and sophisticated. The belted waist makes it modern yet not too "young". Love that it can be worn with tights, sheer pantyhose or even barelegged in the spring/fall. This dress is a MUST HAVE! Colored jewelry can add even more WOW factor. It's a staple piece and I found it very figure flattering. I'm wearing it on my birthday this February
PS -I didn't have the issues some seem to have had with the bust area. I didn't need to stitch/pin the bust, and I normally do so with some plunging v-necks. I thought the neckline was fine as is. I wasn't uncomfortable with showing a little cleavage, didn't think it was too much. Either way, this dress is worth it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Alleycat2014
City: North Canton
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Cute dress
Date:January 28, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
This dress looked very cute, it just didn't fit me properly. Something funny was happening with the bust area so I returned it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SasfrasT
City: Greensboro
State: North Carolina
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Vintage look
Date:January 22, 2014
This dress has a very vintage look which is why I bought it. It its true to size. The v-neck is a bit low for me, but that can be fixed with a needle and thread or a coordinating brooch. This is another dress I bought for my cruise in March! I can't wait to go dancing!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenniferBoyd
City: College Station
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Wonderful and beautiful dress
Date:January 22, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: Fit
This dress is very well made and very beautiful. I wore this to a fancy dinner at Perry's Steakhouse, and felt very special. The top was a little too big for my size 42C chest. I am a size 18/20, and the 18 fit great other than the gad in the boobs. I feel that I need to have the low cut tacked together a bit so that I don't have to worry about my bra hanging out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeekChicMom
City: Portland
State: Oregon
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Lovely
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
Dress is gorgeous and affordable when half off. I would not have paid the $90 price tag for it but got it on sale. The dress is very comfortable and looks great on. I don't have the larger cleavage that it's made for but still looked nice on me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
andredeuce
City: St. Louis
State: Missouri
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great Cocktail Dress
Date:January 2, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: low neckline
I purchased this dress to wear to a New Years Eve dance. The dress looked great. All the reviews are correct, however, about the neckline. I wore a black cami underneath and that solved the problem. I did find that the dress is a better "standing" dress than a "sitting" dress. Overall, I was very happy and got a lot of compliments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cocobell
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
Date:January 2, 2014
Pros: Comfort
Cons: too low cut
This dress was a huge hit on New Years Eve. I love the fit, it was comfortable and moved well on the dance floor. The only problem was it was to low cut ( I don't mind low cut usually) but a safety pin kept the girls safe and all was well.. I will be wearing it again soon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandi Donaldson
City: manassas, va
State: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
beautiful
Date:January 2, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
So comfortable and elegant
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Becala
City: Portland
State: Oregon
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
Love Love Love this Dress!
Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I was pleased to see this dress fit me so well. I am looking forward to the holiday parties!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
halfpint
City: Minneapolis
Age: 35-44
Did the trick, but...
Date:December 13, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit, Item not as described
I was looking for a nice cocktail dress for a dinner party. This dress worked, but only with a top underneath. The v-neck is insanely lower than the website shows. Due to the colour, Gun Metal, it was very difficult to find the right top to go under. If you're going to get this dress, find a shimmery, darker silver (or gun metal) cami :)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brocade surplice dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haras132
Holiday Hottie!
Date:December 12, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit
Wore this to my work holiday party, and felt like a million bucks! Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from LANE BRYANT:By Lane BryantDecember 16, 2013
Work it, Haras132! How about posting a picture to our Facebook Fan page so we can all see how fabulous you look?
1 2 next>>