LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

One piece retro maillot swimsuit

Retro-inspired maillot swimsuit features flattering shirred sides and a pleated bust. Stay perky in the pool with built-in molded, underwire cups for great support. Versatile straps can tie as a halter or cross in back to suit your style.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Review 1 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellie May
City: Detroit
State: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
retro maillot swimsuit
Date:August 29, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Store Location: allen park
I purchased the black retro maillot swimsuit recently. It was the end of the season so i was surprised to find such a cute suit in the store still. I liked the fact that the suit is a little longer to cover the top of the thigh. I also like that you can tie the staps in a couple different ways. I am very happy with my purchase. My best bud thought the suit was "Too Cute"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Ward
City: Phoenix
State: Arizona
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Double thumbs up
Date:August 11, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, great bust support
Best swimsuit purchase. This suit has a retro-look, with a very flattering silhouette. The ruched fit along the torso hugs your curves without feeling like you are wearing wet spanx. The bottom has a "mini skirt" to provide for exiting-the-pool modesty. But my favorite was the bust. It provided just the right amount of lift, and I did not have to tug or adjust the straps to keep the girls in place. It was comfortable to wear all day. Five Stars!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ann M
Age: 35-44
Really nice bathing suit
Date:July 27, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This was one of two bathing suits I ordered online - and was basically my "safety net" suit as I wasn't sure how the other would look on me. Overall this is a really great suit. It's flattering overall, although I do find the the skirt section hangs just a smidge too low. I went with what other reviewers said and ordered a size up and was really glad I did, as I don't think the bust area would have fit as well if I went with my regular size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elvira Sue
City: Grand Junction
State: Colorado
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: varying cup sizes needed
The swimsuit is well constructed and fits everywhere... except the bra cups need to be larger. One size fits all doesn't work for swimsuits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alexvause
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
New Favorite
Date:June 9, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Not perfect, but very nice. I wear a size 24/26 and wear a 44G bra - I sized up to 28 in this suit, and it fits well. Definitely snug, but keeps everything in place; the ruching detail in front hides the snugness without adding too much fabric bulk. However, x-back tie is the only way to keep my chest in place - otherwise the top of the cups is too loose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Christie of Cali
City: Los Angeles
State: California
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Not for me
Date:June 5, 2014
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I read the other reviews and ordered a size larger and this swimsuit did not fit well. I am DD cup size and I was spilling over the top and even afraid to bend over. The scrunched front panel kept slipping around and actually looked really bad. I am returning this swimsuit and am very disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Breesha
City: New Orleans
State: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Super cute style, but a little too busty
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: busty
I really loved this style, fabric and fit. I only wish that Lane Bryant would offer a bit more coverage with their supportive swimsuits. The top fit so small on me, that I had to buy a suit 2 sizes bigger than what I wear, and I still feel like I am showing off too much cleavage. Other than that I LOVE this suit. I love how flattering it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kara K
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Date:May 15, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: sizes small
I own this suit in 2 colors: black and teal and I love them. I have owned both suits for over 2 years. I do recommend sizing up at least 1 if not 2 sizes. It is like putting on spanx, but I promise, you will look good! I wear a 40ddd and this suit has a very supportive bra, but it does not leave much to the imagination, so if you are big chested and looking for a conservative option, this suit is not for you. But if you don't mind some cleavage, you'll love it! The ruching on the sides is flattering and the cut on the legs is nice and low providing a lot of coverage. I can wear this suit all day and be comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turbo chick
City: Corpus Christi
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:May 2, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I swimsuit. Is freakin awesome. The fit accents and it's so comfortable. Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ShellBelle90
State: Texas
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Crazy Fit But I LOVE it!
Date:April 29, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
This swimsuit is amazing. I look great in it and can't wait to wear it out. The downside is that it's FAR from it's true size, for me anyways. I typically wear a size 14, and I just tried on a few suits in that size and was perfectly fine, except in this suit, I guess because of the built in bra, I had to wear a size 20 for it to fit my chest (I wear a 40DD) . It does require a lot of wiggling to get in the suit, regardless of size, but hey- at least it won't fall off on ya! :) If you manage to find your size through all the guess work, the suit is glamorous~!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SelenaH
City: Seattle
State: Washington
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
best swimsuit i've ever had
Date:April 26, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
as beautiful as the model is and as nice as the photos turned out, this swimming suit is even more beautiful in person. the built-in bra makes me feel secure while the ruchine is tasteful and helps cover flaws.
it is so well worth the price-tag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amberlina
City: Ann Arbor
State: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
My favorite suit
Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: difficult to pull on over hips
I love this swim suit. I bought my first one years ago, got it in turquoise last summer, and just recently replaced the original because the butt wore out from use. I'm a C-D cup which fits perfect, I would not recommend this suit to anyone with a larger chest. The top is a fitted bra, so it is a little difficult to pull up over hips/butt.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
freerangekarma
City: South Hadley
State: Massachusetts
Nice fit.. except for the cups!
Date:February 19, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
I loved the style and general fit of the suit, but the cups on the balconette bra portion were way, way too big. I should've guessed -- I generally don't like the balconette bra and this just proved me right. I ended up returning it which is sad, I liked it except for the fact it looked ridiculous in the chest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bakerchick
City: virginia beach
State: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
disappointed
Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
i saw this on the mannequin in the store and fell in love with it....i didn't have time to try it on in the store...the sales clerk advised it was not easy to put on but to keep tugging and pulling it and i'd eventually get it on.....it took about 10 minutes to get it on......i agree with the other review....the cups are small......when i finally got it on there was a lot of spillage.....enough that i would not feel comfortable wearing it in public.....i loved the style and the retro vibe but the girls need a lot more coverage....i gave the swimsuit to my daughter....it looked a lot better on her than on me and she was able to get more coverage than i was.......
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One piece retro maillot swimsuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CHELL W
City: Bowie
State: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
FIT IS COMPLETELY OFF
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort, cut way too small in the bust area
First off let me say this is a great looking suit. Very stylish however the cut is wayyyyy off. It is cut very, very small at the top and if you have an ample bust like me (42D) forget about it! It's also very difficult to get on. Lots of "wiggIing" involved. I usually wear a 14/16 top in LB (can't wear their pants as they are all to big for me since I've lost weight) so I figured I could wear this in 14 or 16. Wrong! This suit is cut super small in the bust area! I even tried on an 18 and the bust was still way too small. I would have probably had to size up to a 22 just to have it fit in the bust but then the rest of the suit would have been wayyyyyyy too big. Just didn't work for me as the cut is all wrong. If you have very small "twins" this may work for you but if you have an ample bust, forget it. You'd have to size up so far that the rest of the suit will probably be too big.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.