LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Colorblock shell

Modern colorblocking and a mixed-material motif makes this soft shell a versatile favorite for the season and beyond. Detailed with chiffon trim at the scoop neckline and flattering shark bite hem, it’s a style-savvy look worn solo as a tank or layered under a structured blazer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Colorblock shell
Review 1 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ms Sunshine
City: Boston
State: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
A flattering pattern that isn't stripes!
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Maybe it's just me, but does anyone else ever get tired of stripes? I bought this for a change of pace and I'm glad I did! It fits very comfortably and drapes in a way that flatters my busty chest without making my waist/stomach look thicker. There is some pulling at the sleeves that you can see on the model as well, but it's manageable and the arm holes still lay flat enough to cover my bra completely. Good for business casual or evenings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LB Princess
City: Chino Hills
State: California
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Really NICE!
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Comfort and dressy at the same time.....when tire of the cotton tees. Pull this out!
Play it up or wear casual, really nice top....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TraceyE
City: Raleigh
State: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great Purchase
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Awesome purchase, I have all 3 colors. The fit is perfect, especially with leggings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ANN76550
City: Kempner
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Colors are dull.
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Style
I was expecting more. It looks very colorful in the pics but it is dull and looks faded. It is comfortable but very thin, more like a nightgown material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like to Dress
City: Dolton
State: Illinois
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Just Okay
Date:June 1, 2014
Cons: Style
There is nothing special about this top except the price. It is overpriced. The colors are just too dull for summer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GabbyGirl7182
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love It!
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cool and Comfy! Great fit and stylish!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cruizymom
State: Tennessee
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
very cool
Date:May 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
When I opened the package I thought this top would be too small. It does fit but runs just a smidge small. The fabric is very light and a little on the thin side. This is okay because it is a summer top. Great for hiding belly. Is long enough to wear with fitted bottoms. The colors are really pretty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abs1213
City: chicago
State: Illinois
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
unique, stylish piece
Date:May 8, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit
unique, stylish piece, great weight minimizer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wry Martini
City: San Francisco
State: California
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Sheer panel exposes belly.
Date:May 5, 2014
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Fit
I had high hopes for this - planned to wear it as a blouse under blazers and cardigans at work. Unfortunately, the bottom black panel is chiffon and quite sheer, and it will expose your belly. When I tried this on with jeans, a 4-5" patch of skin was visible through this sheer panel.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CLARISSA
City: Apache J unction
State: Arizona
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
One out of 3 fit!!!
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I ordered 3 shirts and this is the ONLY one that fit!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LizNY
City: Long Island
State: New York
Shopping Preference: Online
Good and runs small in size
Date:April 29, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
The material description is wrong.- its not spandex or rayon as described. The top runs small size. I wear 14/16 or 18/20 in tops but this top, I heard to get 22/24.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from LANE BRYANT:By Lane BryantApril 29, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about the incorrect material description, LizNY. It has been corrected - all thanks to you!
Happy wearing!
Review 12 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingWardrobe
City: Minneapolis
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Surprisingly Flattering
Date:April 28, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, visually slimming
Online, I didn't realize notice this top, but when I saw it in the store, it stood out a lot more. I was even more impressed when I tried it on.
PROS: What this description doesn't tell you is that the “shark-bite hem” is part of an a-line cut that makes this top very forgiving. If you have a tummy you don’t want to draw attention to, this flares out from just below the bust and creates a really nice visual line. The chiffon trim is a great touch making the top not look as long as it is; so it’s nice as a tool for visually lengthening my height and slimming my waist while still falling low enough on my hips to feel comfortable. I bought this in my usual size and it fit perfectly.
CONS (mild): While the material is soft and looks nice, I wonder how well it will hold up on the wash without pilling. Also, I got it in orchid/grey/black/white and the small white block is a little bit more translucent that I was expecting – I wore a slightly colored bra underneath and I didn't notice until I got to work that you could see it. Fortunately, my cardigan could cover it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Colorblock shell
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LoveToShop14
Weird Fit-Doesn't fit as pictured
Date:April 26, 2014
Cons: Fit
Wanted to love this shirt- the color pattern is really cute, however the fit is SO strange. The bottom layer is sheer and fitted, so really not flattering on bigger stomach/bigger bottoms. I went up a size and it still looked weird.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.