LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LANE BRYANT.

Smocked waist maxi dress

In a soft knit for warm weather comfort, our smocked waist maxi is a Summer essential. Flattering V-neckline and wide shirred straps make it bra-friendly, too!
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smocked waist maxi dress
Review 1 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
artgeek
Cheap fabric
Date:August 1, 2014
Pros: Fit, Comfort
very comfortable, but the fabric faded after two washes. I now wear it to bed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vronni
City: Valdosta
State: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Very Comfy, ny new favorite dress
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Comfort, very long for a tall person.
This dress is so comfortable, I love it and it's very roomy. I usually wear a 22/24, but I was able to get it in an 18/20. I'm 6 ft tall so I was well pleased to finally get a maxi dress that's actually long like a maxi should be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
APB17
City: San Diego
State: California
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love this
Date:July 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, well cut
I bought this dress in the store, so not sure why it's "on line exclusive", but regardless it's really a lovely casual dress! It has a beautiful flow when you walk, it doesn't just hang like a sack. I particularly appreciate that it's a great summer dress, but it doesn't have spaghetti straps so you can easily wear a bra with it. The smocked waist is not too high, so it's flattering and exquisitely comfortable. Great for hanging at home in comfortable style or going out for dinner and a show. Love it- but most of all the way the skirt is cut and moves with you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emmeann
City: Windber
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Soft, cool and beautiful
Date:July 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This is my quick summer go to dress. It's easy to dress up or down. It's extremely cool and comfortable.
It does run big though. I'm glad I listened to the other reviews and went a size down. I'm very busty and it fits perfect without drawing too much attention. This is designed for taller gals. I'm 5'9" and it falls just to my ankles. I can wear it with flats, but it feels like I'm going to trip on the dress.
Love this dress. I have both colors, and I rarely like a dress so much that I order both colors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1533
State: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Beautiful
Date:July 10, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I put this on as soon as I got it. And I loved it. The fit was perfect. I am a 42F, size 16/18 in clothes and I got the 14/16. It fit comfortably. The only complaint I would have is that its a little long (im 5*6'') but its a maxi dress.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rlw112563
State: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great summer dress
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I am SO loving this maxi dress
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
laylalair
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Sizing is so off
Date:July 5, 2014
Cons: Fit
I am a solid 18 to 20. However, the 14/16 was incredible big on me. Sizing is way way off on this one. I had ordered both sizes but they will go back. The color was nice on the dress so it really is a shame.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
classytchr
Great dress
Date:July 4, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, color
I love the fit and love the way it looks on me! Very flattering!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rasburyjam
City: Warrington
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love it.
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, color is blue and purple mixed. love the color
I'm 5'9", 235 lbs. Because I wear a 16 or 18 top and a 18 or 20 bottom, I got the 18/20. My bust is a 40 DD. This dress fit beautifully except under the arms was a little loose. I tried on the 14/16 and that was a perfect fit for the top but bottom was a little clingy. So I went with the larger size and because of the beautiful design being busy you can't even tell, but I just tacked the underarm about a half inch. The dress flows great, feels great, no bra straps showing. It has a low neck line, but hugs the girls great. The puckered waistline fits perfectly just under the bra so it does not emphasis my big belly. I really do love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unionjack
City: converse
State: Texas
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: Online
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, true to size
Very stylish with a pair of LB sandals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmoconnell8
Pretty maxi dress
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This dress is very comfortable and covers bra straps which can be a problem with sleeveless dresses. I am very short (4'11") so the dress is very long on me but I will have it shortened and I know I will be able to wear it all summer long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beverlysmom
City: Atlanta
State: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Soft, Cute, but had to return
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I ordered this item online, when I received it I thought the colors were beautiful, the fabric was very soft, and the length was great for me since it was longer. However, the elastic on the top was too low for me. It hit me almost at my waist and was extremely unflattering. I have a D cup, so I probably just didn't fill the top up enough. Unfortunately, I had to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PugGirlLV
City: Las Vegas
State: Nevada
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
BEST DRESS!
Date:June 19, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This is one of my most favorite purchases this summer. I am constantly trying on maxi dresses only to put them back because they feel like house dresses. This one does not. This dress is flattering with the smocked waist band. It brings the dress in all around the body around my smallest part of my torso. The straps are nice and wide so I can wear a regular bra and hold the girls up comfortably all day long. The weight of the dress is nice. It does not cling and is heavy enough to hang nice. I am 5'8" and I bought a 14/16. The length is perfect on me. It goes close to my feet and I like to wear flat sandals. Pair this dress with a cropped sleeveless denim vest and you have a perfect summer dress! I want this dress in more colors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lady Genesis
City: Austin
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
It fits beautifully and looks great on. It's very easy to wear. No need to suck in your gut or wear a "special" bra. It's so comfortable.
The only issue I had was that it seemed to run big. I generally wear a 22/24 in Lane Bryant dresses, but in this one I had to go down a size to 18/20 in order for it to fit properly. It's very long and it is "wide" as it has a lot of fabric, I guess due to the smocking.
But I LOVE it. It's comfortable and beautiful. I got the pink and blue. I wish there were other colors; I;d get them too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smurfy99362
City: Walla Walla
State: Washington
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Perfect office appropriate sundress
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
It can get up to 120 degrees sometimes in the summer, I like to stock my wardrobe with maxi dresses that do not have to have a shrug/jacket/cardigan to be appropriate in the office at work, this fits the bill! The colors are amazing and bright, the knit blend is soft and hangs like it should, wide straps, no bra showing, and the smocking hits exactly where it needs to w/o creating a shelf on my bum in the back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crazykaraokelady
City: Tulsa
State: Oklahoma
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great for the tall and busty
Date:June 15, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort, beautiful colors
Cons: Fit
I was so excited that the tulsa store had the blue version of this for me to try on. I wear 14W most of the time, and can generally wear most 14/16's with some minor alterations or a jacket. Very comfortable non iron material, and wanted to love it on me but, It was too big . I haven't been working on losing weight, but I dance a lot, so it COULD have happened, but the rest of my 14/16's still fit, so I'm guessing not. I I think the length might have been ok if I had filled it out, ( I'm a pretty obvious pear ) but I do agree it does seem kinda long. Still love LB, but will have to stick with the shorter dresses and mainly use the card to shop for family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bhollowaycma
City: Lafayette
State: Georgia
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love everything about this dress
Date:June 15, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
just purchased this in the pink and purple and it was one of the best dresses I have ever own. I am seriously thinking of ordering the blue. . I am 5'*8" and the length touches the top of my foot. The fabric is very comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tucson Gma
City: Tucson
State: Arizona
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
very comfortable!
Date:June 8, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: length
Love the blue, but about 4. inches too long! I am 5'5".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel S
Date:June 7, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Love my new dress
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smocked waist maxi dress
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ridge130
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
flattering and comfortable
Date:June 3, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I like where the waist falls; does not balloon out too much. Adequate coverage at the arm openings. Very cool and comfortable fabric. A little long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>