LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit

Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit features a seamless design that slims midriff, tummy, thighs and rear. Cotton gusset opens to make life easier. Special slick yarns won’t cling to clothes. No leg band reduces bulge on thigh.  **Bra not included. \r\n \r\nTransform your figure in body-slimming, plus-size shapewear, tights and bras from Spanx. Nobody fits you like Lane Bryant! \r\n
Average Customer Rating:
3.878 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
32 out of 41(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Review 1 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cerebear
City: Atlanta
State: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
The Best Shapewear Product on the Market
Date:November 21, 2009
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, effectiveness
I *LOVE* my Spanx Slim Cognito Mid Thigh Bodyshaper!! It is so comfortable on, that I forget I am wearing it. But best of all, it works.
I had someone else take my measurements both with and without the Spanx. With this shaper on, I am one inch slimmer around my upper torso, and 1 1/2 inches slimmer around my waist!
I carry most of my extra weight in my midsection, but with these Spanx I am held in so well that muffin top disappears and the lumps and bumps are smoothed over creating a smooth appearance in clothing.
I couldn't be more satisfied. This product does exactly what it is supposed to do.
As an added bonus, when you purchase the correct size, the enclosed straps are totally unnecessary. The top of the shaper will not roll down. I just tuck it under my bra and works just fine.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nulan
City: New York City
State: New York
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
Would Recommend, But....
Date:June 17, 2014
Cons: Comfort
Determining that is was now time to purchase a body-shaping garment to provide a somewhat slimmer presentation, I immediately thought of Lane Bryant. However, I really wanted the product that Cacique usually offers. The Spanx ticks all of the boxes that I need, but, during hot and humid weather, the heavier fabric is not as comfortable as I'd like it to be, The Cacique products provided the same benefits, but the fabric was lighter and more comfortable. I hope they return to the racks of Lane Bryant. But in the meantime, the Spanx will smooth curves and enable the drape of your clothing to look terrific.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slimmer than ever
City: Louisville
State: Kentucky
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
THANX SPANX
Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I would and have recommended this to a friend. I wore it one day to work and it worked just fine. I only intend on using this one more time at my wedding.
Word to the wise. I have a very long torso and found that his works very well to reach all the way to the bottom of my bosom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mkeshoe2
City: Franksville
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
What I expected
Date:February 27, 2014
Pros: Fit
I went to Lane Brandt with the intent to purchase bras, and saw this on the clearance rack. Fits like a charm for a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CasualChic
City: Chicago
State: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Industrial strength spanx omg
Date:May 11, 2013
Cons: Fit, Comfort
Omg these were so hardcore! Lol I have a hard time getting regular spanx on and these were next to impossible. Like industrial grade spanx! I frankly gave up when I got to my hips and came to the conclusion i'd have to go up a size. I never got around to it, but if you've worn spanx before, you might consider going up a size on these.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rphmom
City: Orlando
State: Florida
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Cuts along the back
Date:May 9, 2013
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I had read a lot of reviews and decided to try it. I got it on ok although it is a struggle but the back wants to curl and cuts into my bra line. I tried numerous things to keep it flat but never found it comfortable after wearing out to dinner twice for short periods if time. I'm dissappointed because my daughters wedding is next week and I was counting in this shaper to be the answer to my problem areas but there is no way I could wear it comfortably all day and evening.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MzMandi
City: Newark
State: Delaware
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Not sure this is what it's supposed to do!
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: Comfort
Cons: rolls down
I bought this and it did hold me in pretty good. However, my biggest complaint is that after a while, it began to roll down in the waist, and as much money as I paid for a Spanx product, I was very disappointed!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewer123
State: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Good, not great
Date:February 19, 2012
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort, rides up and drags bra down when hooked
I had really high hopes for this product, unfortunately they were not met. After a short time wearing the Spanx, the material on the thighs began to ride up, making an awkward line in my skirt and really making me walk funny. Also, the fit was really too tight and constrictive in the mid area. When it was hooked to my bra, it began to ride down instead of up which also made strange lines on my back and sides and pulled my bra down making my breasts look saggy. I was not pleased. In addition, it was very difficult to attach the straps to the bra alone!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NiaLikes
City: Memphis
State: Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Get your Husband to Help You! You Gone Need Him!
Date:February 13, 2012
Pros: Fit
Cons: i did have a few seems come undone at the top but
I must say that this thing does EHHHHHHVERY thing they say it will. I have had mine for more than a year and she is STILL kickin! You will want a very MASSIVE man to help you put this on however, But once u get stretched out, Baby you IN there! You will be fitted flattered, raised, accentuated and lifted and HAPPY! After a few wears it gets easier to put on Therefore I do recommended that u do NOT machine wash. Keep this puppy in a 3O minute- over night soak perhaps and AIR dry. This thing is durable as well. My husband and I play a lil game of tug-a-war each time I get ready to wear it from the middle to the ends and it does NOT even phase this awesome construction. While it is more than a notion to put this on You will be able to wear ANYTHING you want underneath Over top. It just WORKS!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deaconess
City: charlotte
State: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Total Worth It!
Date:February 10, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: expensive
I love it! I brought this a couple of months ago and fell in love. I moved and it was accidently thrown out. Without a doubt going to buy another. A little expensive, but when you see how you look after it is on, you will totally be surprise. The first time you put it on, get help. It smooths and flattens. Ladies go for it! Im a size 24W and bought a size 3x.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BethieC
State: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Money Well Spent
Date:October 16, 2011
Pros: Fit, Comfort, stayed in place perfectly
Cons: you will need a buddy to help you pull up the back
I wanted some "help" when going wedding dress shopping, and had a friend recommend this product. I've tried cheaper alternatives and struggled with keeping them up. The Slim Cognito was amazing. I wore it for a full day without any discomfort. I tucked the top under my bra and did not use the straps they include and didn't have to readjust once. I will agree with other comments and say that you definitely need someone to help you when putting this on, as getting the back where you want it is challenging. However, once in place, it stayed up, smoothed me out, and was comfortable for a whole day. I am 5'9" and a size 22, and I got a 1x, which was perfect for me.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ThickandSmexy
City: austin
State: Texas
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Better than expected
Date:September 19, 2011
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: price, delicate material
I highly recommend this product. I purchased this for my strapless dress for my nieces sweet 15. My stomach was a whole lot flatter, did not make my butt flat, did not roll down, and comfortable. I did not use the straps it came with I was able to tuck it under my bra and it stayed in place. I am a size 24 and bought a 3x. When you try it on it looks very small but believe me it will stretch you just have to wiggle yourself through. Don't give up trying it on it will be very worth it in the end. The only cons is that its expensive and it should have been tripled sewed at the seems because it already has a small hole at the bottom private area probably from all the stretching to put it on.You definitely need to hand wash it and air dry it so it can last longer. Besides the cons I definitely will still buy again I'm going to try the 2x next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Confused
State: Mississippi
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Sizing chart is not a good reference
Date:September 3, 2011
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, fabric has hold but not much give
I was so excited to buy this Spanx shapewear and after using their sizing chart felt confident I had finally found some shapewear that would fit right. Boy, was I wrong! I can see why Spanx really holds a person in and gives them a seemingly new shape, but not if it doesn't even give enough for you to even get it on! I feel like I would need at least three sizes larger just to be able to force the garmet on, much less be able to wear it! I just don't understand why their sizing chart was so far off from my measurements. If it had been one size off, I could understand that. This was seriously, ridiculously off! I could not even begin to get this on. After reading the reviews, I felt confident in the purchase. Maybe I just happened to get an unusual item that may have been marked with the wrong size, however, now I am too skeptical to reorder another one. Maybe I will return it to the store, and they will have some I can try on. I hope so!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitCat8605
AMAZING!!
Date:August 24, 2011
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: Comfort
These Spanx are the most amazing thing I've ever experienced. They take some getting used to, but they're incredible. Now I wear them everyday. They suck in the rolls and show your true curve :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KirchLibre
City: Silver Spring
State: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Pleasantly Surprised
Date:August 18, 2011
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: price, hard to get on at first
I'll admit I was very cautious about purchasing this product, even though I've read the various reviews on here. But the only way I could make a sound decision was to try it on. And like the title says, I was pleasantly surprised.
First off the pros. I really didn't think that this was going to slim me down at all, but it took off at least an inch or two and smoothed me out quite a bit. But most importantly I can breathe and walk quite comfortably.
Now to me the most obvious con was the price. While it is worth the money, seventy-six dollars is a lot of money. Also I can see why it's so hard to put on at first. But I do have a little tip to put on the back strap. First take off the strap of your bra so you can let it move down a little and then fasten the back strap. I found it a little easier for me to do it this way instead of putting it on while I had my bra straps over my shoulders.
But other than those two cons, I'd say this was a good buy. And I might invest in another one in the future.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jghipgirl
City: Brighton
State: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
I Love This!!
Date:June 16, 2011
Pros: Style, Comfort
This is so amazing!! It is a little difficult to get on, but they are all that way. If it was easy to put on then they wouldnt be "shaping" your body at all. I cant believe the differnce this makes in myu body shape!! Love It!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Koko87
City: Saint Louis
State: Missouri
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store
It's a struggle, but definitely worth it!
Date:June 9, 2011
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Like many other ladies here, I was afraid I would order this and it wouldn't fit once I received it. I purchased this specifically for a wedding I'm going to a be a part of in July and I wanted to give it a test run while it was hot to see how comfortable it would be.
Long story short, it took a while to get it on, but there's a definite difference in my curves. I carry most of my weight in my midsection (size 22/24) so I was feeling a little self-conscious in my strapless, somewhat body hugging dress. I tried on my body suit and it made a dress that was a little too snug fit perfectly! It holds everything in place and still allows you to breathe. And best of all, I felt cool all day. The included straps are brilliant (since my back fat is too powerful for many items lol), but as others said, you will need help with the back one for sure. Overall, I'm very pleased with my purchase. You can be too, just be sure to get the right size for you :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DollfaceATL
City: Atlanta
State: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
First Time Spanx User...
Date:May 24, 2011
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I read the reviews for this item and I have to admit that I was a little nervous! So many women complained about how it rolled down, they broke fingers trying to get it on and dislocated shoulders trying to keep it on straight. I would have to offer a few things of recommends for my fellow ladies so that you can put on this thing w/o harming yourself and others!
Don't try to put it on as soon as you get out of the shower! Your skin is still wet and supple, which makes everything stick to it. Get out the shower, put on your bra and such, do your hair/makeup/etc and try to keep yourself cool to dry your skin as much as possible. When you're putting it on, relax, sit down on the side of the bed or in a chair and bunch up one leg and slide it up to your knee. Do the other the same-- bunch it up not letting it go. Now, stand up (note: this is NOT the time to take off running) and ease the garment up more until the crotch is at your, well, crotch. Then pull it all the way up and then roll the legs down. That way you have solid coverage that should stay up the whole night and won't leave you upset, frustrated and running to the bathroom every 20 minutes.
If you're going to be using the bra straps, you. Will. Need. To. Phone. A. Friend. Simple as that. The front ones are easy to put on, but if you're wearing a strapless bra (like yours truly) you'll need someone there to make sure your spanx AND your bra don't end up around your knees when you're done fighting with it.
The things we do for beauty. :)
Let the good times roll, ladies!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MEGF
State: Maryland
Age: Under 25
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:May 4, 2011
Cons: Fit
Hate this. I am a belly heavy size 26 and purchased this to wear under a dress I have. The sales associate gave me a 3X and sent me home with it. I couldn't even put it on the first time, so I stretched it out over a chair overnight. It did stretch out a bit, and when I tried to put it on again this morning, it fit, but I cannot sit down with it on because it rolls down. I even tried attaching the bra straps but it just tugs awkwardly on my bra and rolls down in the places where it's not attached. I'm going to try stretching it a different way tonight and hopefully it will not roll any more. I won't hold my breath, though, and am totally dissatisfied with this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spanx® Slim Cognito Shaping Mid-Thigh Bodysuit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BIGBOOTYGURL
State: Rhode Island
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
wtf...how do you get it on?
Date:December 31, 2010
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort, instructions...they should have a booklet
Spanx® Slim Cognito Body Shaper: I am a Size 24-26...picked up a 3x the biggest size they have. I have tried and tried(for 3days now)...i'm going to break my nails to try to even get it up my legs, never mind my the rest of my body!...(looked online to see if there were tips or advice)no instructions on how to get it up the body(on garment or online), no anything...going back today! So very disappointed! It actually looked like what i wanted for my cruise in two weeks, but if i'm breaking bones and nails to get it on(couldn't get it all the way on)...it is so not worth it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>