LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole

Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole is perfect under your favorite tops for extra slimming at the waist and for firming tummy and love handles. High back provides slimming coverage. Super soft fabric provides comfortable, powerful compression. \r\n \r\nTransform your figure in body slimming, plus size shapewear, tights and bras from Spanx. Nobody fits you like Lane Bryant! \r\n \r\n
Average Customer Rating:
3.593 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5
17 out of 27(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Review 1 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
irishd89
City: Moosic
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Date:June 20, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit
Cons: Comfort
I agree that this is extra slimming at the waist and it does firm your tummy and love handles. What the description does not tell you is that the shoulder straps are not traditional shoulder straps and are visible when wearing a traditional tank top and more importantly, the straps pinch your arms -
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pammie20
City: Spring Lake
State: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Great item
Date:April 23, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
It is light weight wish the price was cheaper but nice item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dixiediva
City: Manassas
State: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Best Invention Ever
Date:April 20, 2014
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I absolutely love my Spanx Open-Bust Camisole. Smoothes out all the lumps and makes me feel confident!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faithful Spanx User
City: San Diego
State: California
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
First time using this product
Date:January 5, 2014
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort
Wasn't for me. I just wasn't comfortable at all. for some reason it kept riding up on me and was pulling down on my shoulders. I tried a bigger size but had no support anywhere and the straps just fell off. I will keep looking till I get it right.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gator
Impressed with visual results pretty amazing
Date:November 16, 2013
After full day of wearing straps at edge of underarm start to irrate. Not enough to stop me from wearing again the next day. I purchased two and they were a good investment. Wil purchase again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlueKentuckyMoon
City: Louisville
State: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Spanks are awesome!!
Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: bust lift, cleavage
I bought this two days ago, and I literally do not want to take it off. It fits you beautifully and gives support that I never had wearing a bra alone. The band where it sits actually lifts up your bust and gives a new found cleavage! It holds your stomach and sides in so well I think of it like my second skin!! Highly recommend all you ladies who want to give Spanx a try and are afraid to because of the price, it is WELL WORTH every penny spent!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
greengirl8
State: California
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Date:April 29, 2013
Cons: Fit, Style, Comfort
did not like at all, didn't fit well....will be returning it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Winston
Apple-Shape...this is for you!
Date:March 10, 2013
Pros: slims mid-section beautifully, allows you to wear your normal bra
Cons: shoulder straps are painful
I had to jump in and give a realistic review. First of all, this does EXACTLY what I wanted it to! I am an apple-shape (carry most of my weight in my mid-section,) so this gives me the hour-glass shape I want! I have not experienced the ride-up that other reviewers have, but perhaps that's due to my shape (hips are narrow.) if you are a pear shape, this might be a problem. I've had 3 of these in rotation since September '12' and wear them most everyday, but I need to caution you, the straps ARE painful (they sit right in front of your shoulder; *not* where your bra usually hits.) This seems to have gotten worse with washings. I'm going to invest in some bra-strap cushions to see if that helps. 1 last thing, if you really want it to be super-slimming, order 1 size smaller, that's what I did.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LaSw
Shopping Preference: Online
Material too flimsy, not firm enough
Date:March 1, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
I am not pleased with this product at all and I wish I could get my money back. I was sure to purchase the correct size, but it still does nothing for me. It felt like I could use a smaller size, but then I won't be able to get into it or the straps would be pulled far back behind my shoulders and/ or it may just ride all the way up from my upper hips (as it almost does now anyway).
My main problem area is my back (love handles), it made no difference on them. There is hardly any "hold" in the overall material. I'll bet there are swimsuits and tight fitting tanks that would probably do a better job, the positive reviews perplex me. Then again, I recently bought this product, so perhaps they since changed the type of quality in the material???
However, I do appreciate the open space in the bust area, as I am heavy busted. Perhaps if it was a closed piece, it might have squeezed down on my breasts. Perhaps too that's one of the reasons why it's not that firm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shelly s 73a
Age: 35-44
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Very comfortable, makes little' bumps' disappear. Love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kwise1968
City: Johnson City
State: Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
Better than the reviews give credit for.
Date:December 3, 2012
Pros: Fit
Cons: Comfort
I had to chime in. After reading the reviews I was a bit skeptic. I am currently a size 18/20. I bought a 2X in Black. It definitely does what I was looking for. It smoothed out my back and gives a more streamline look under t-shirst, etc. it does a grea job smoothing out the "nooks and crannies" of my belly. I did not experience any roll up, and it can be easily tucked into jeans, or leave out and make it look like a camisol. I have worn it several times already, and 2 days I wore it ALL day. I will agree with previous posts about the straps. Because of how they are positioned, expect some slight chafing near the armpit area. Overall I am very pleased and will be buying another one soon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MissChristina
City: Dayton
State: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great job slimming but watch out for the straps!
Date:May 30, 2012
Pros: slimming
Cons: Comfort, straps
I tried this on in store, to make sure I had the right size before I made the purchase. (they are pretty pricey!) I liked the look and feel, so I bought one in nude and one in black. It does a great job of smoothing out my tummy and making it look like someone hasn't stapled a doughnut to my belly button. It is also long enough to tuck in, and I haven't had any problems with it rolling up. (it's worth noting, I'm not very "hippy" most of my weight is in my gut) Also, the fact that I don't have to fight with it when using the ladies room, another bonus. What did actually bother me after a full day at work was the straps. Again, everything fits comfortably, so I do think I have the correct size, but the straps angle back into your armpits. I found myself tugging at it during the day and trying to pull is forward. I don't have very large arms either, all things considered. I do understand the concept of the open bust, and I like the way it looks, but the straps are definitely going to prevent me from wearing them on a regular basis.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathe
City: Pittsburgh
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
I think these camis are wonderful.
Date:March 18, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I bought these camis maybe a year ago and wear them everyday. They have become part of my undergarment package- panties, bra, cami. I find them to be less hassle than a shaper panty. The Spanx panties are difficult to get on and a drag when you have to use the bathroom. I was surprised to see some of the reviews about the cami rolling up and it chafing. I've not experienced this with any of the camis I have purchased. I suppose, though, it does have to do with body type. I don't have big hips or a big rear. My trouble spots are my love handles which this cami is great at keeping a secret. I would recommend this cami if you want super support around your mid section. I also prefer the under the bust camis to a true, full cami.. I dislike the latter because I feel it takes away from the shape of my breasts. In other words, full camis can undo what the $50 bra you purchased has done- separate your breasts! This under the bust cami truly addresses ONLY the issues, the mid section and the back, and doesn't interfere with anything else.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
firekracker
Disappointing purchase - top rolls up
Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: Style, nice that it doesn't have attached panties
Cons: Fit, rolls up when sitting
I am very disappointed with this purchase. I should have listened to the other reveiws. I have an apple body type so I'm not sure if "apples" should not buy this. The issue is after about two hours of wear, the top will roll up when you sit down. It get stretched out and will continue to do it the rest of the day. (I know I have the correct size.) It also is not a "firm" hold like it says. It just kind of smooths your imperfections which is okay, if it didn't roll up. I later tried one of the Assets products. It is like a dream come true. They slip on like panties, then you pull the top up over your midsection and it flattens and smooths. I think they must be sold out because I can't find them on here anymore. Anyway, Apples! Buy Assets not Spanx! Assets are half the price too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mlee
City: Hamilton
State: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Very Disappointed
Date:November 13, 2011
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit
I bought this to wear under my wedding dress to make me smooth and hold me in a little bit. Just so I would feel comfortable on my wedding day. I wasn't expecting a miracle for it to make me look 20 pounds lighter but I did expect a little sucking in and firming but I looked the exact same in my dress with it on as I did with it off. The minute I sat down or even bent over it rolled up to just under my bra. It's very disappointing and the description is misleading because it does NOT have powerful compression! I could barely tell I had it on, which in this case wasn't a good thing.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SoCal81
State: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
I need more of these
Date:August 27, 2011
This is my new "go to" item for slimming some of the "lumps and bumps". It doesn't really "hold things in" like some of the other Spanx products (in some of them I am able to lose 2 sizes!) but this does smooth out rolls you would normally see on my back and sides.
I did have to go up a size on this from what I thought I would need. I am a 20 on the bottom and 16/18 on top. I bought the 1x and exchanged for the 2x. Now the bottom doesn't roll up when I move around.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingMomfeelinggood
City: Philadelphia
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
OMG Awesome!
Date:July 21, 2011
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I read all the reviews and was a little worried that it would ride up and not suck me in. Well I am so happy to be wrong. After having my son I have been wearing a size bigger to hide the belly rolls. I almost cried when I was able to wear one of my favorite fitted tops again. I normally wear a 22/24 and purchased the 1x. Was totally worth the money! ahhhhhhhh now if Spanx would only come out with plus size swimwear already!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JSHR
City: Sarasota
State: Florida
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Awful
Date:July 21, 2011
Pros: none
Cons: everything
Spanx sizing I feel is very misleading. I have tried on many different types of body shapers. This one I ordered in a 1x after reveiwing the size chart for my height and wieght. It was huge. And very long The straprs are thick and are not ajustable. This is my 5th spanx refund. I will never order again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mrsdrob07
City: Atlanta
State: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store
Not for women with real curves
Date:May 2, 2011
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
To put things into perspective: I should let you know that my top half is an 18/20 and my bottom half is a 24 or 26 depending on the cut of the item. So this camisole was useless to me. Any of you that have round rear ends, don't bother! There isn't any rubber on the hem or anything to keep it in place so as soon as I sat down it would roll up like a window shade.
Also the straps kind of chafed me because they wouldn't line up with my bra straps. I tried going up a size (my sister had one) but I still got the same thing. So if you are a RIght Fit Blue...stay away!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spanx® Slimplicity Open-Bust Camisole
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yazoochick
State: Mississippi
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
This is my new best friend
Date:April 9, 2011
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I purchased the black around Christmas in 1x and I have to admit I do adore it! I love being able to wear my own bra with it and showcase my assets in a flattering way. I have lost 129 lbs in the last year and a half but I have 'skin' issues and belly flab that nothing but surgery is going to fix. Now that I am going down in sizes I find that I have a huge muffin top...So this is great for me. I like wearing clothes that fit me and show off my new shrinking figure. When I have this on I can wear a tight shirt with just a small bulge, rather than a huge one! It is light weight and comfortable. I live in Mississippi and I have no problem in the summer at all. I tuck it in my panties and although it does tend to ride up in the back just a little it is nothing that is annoying or noticeable. And very easily fixed with my normal trips to the bathroom during the work day. I am glad that it is finally out in natural as well. I wear this every day that I work. I would pay twice as much for this after having owned it. Those that have the riding up problem must be ordering the wrong size.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>