LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit

\r\nSlimplicity Open-Bust Mid-Thigh Body Suit provides super control to shape and smooth your silhouette from bust to mid thigh. Cotton gusset lets you wear this shaper without panties, and opens for convenience. Adjustable lingerie straps.
Average Customer Rating:
3.838 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
27 out of 37(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Review 1 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lauren 616
State: New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Too Short
Date:December 10, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I love the fact that I can wear my own bra. However, the garment length is too short. I'm only 5'6" so I consider myself average. But the whole night the straps dug into my shoulders. It was rather painful - but I looked good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
middleagedmom
City: Las Vegas
State: Nevada
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Did It Work?
Date:October 21, 2014
Pros: Fit, Comfort
This product worked well...the only issue I had was that the straps are not adjustable and they slid on occasion and rubbed near my arm pit. Besides that it was quite comfortable and not binding and tight feeling like most shape wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cupcake and muffin
City: New Orleans
State: Louisiana
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
Best investment
Date:October 20, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: a litte pricey
Store Location: Harvey
This garment makes all the difference in my fitted dresses. Smooth out all bumps and lumps. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fancy1
City: san antonio
State: Texas
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: Online
smooth
Date:September 26, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort, crotch opening
Cons: Fit, not a firm hold
Store Location: ingram mall
soft, smooth true to size. It is NOT a firm compressing body suit at all! So I do understand we think Spanx and with the price you'd expect to be firmly held and sucked in but Nope! I purchased a 1x and wanted it tighter but that's the smallest size. So if you want more firmness I recommend getting a size smaller if you can. Benefits of this garment: it does smooth everything out so you do look better in clothes, its comfortable, its soft material, the legs dont roll up, and it has a crotch opening so you don't have to take the whole garment off to use the restroom!! It can definitely be worn daily and you can still breathe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanaloveshergirl
City: malden
State: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Spanx
Date:August 19, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Store Location: Saugus, MA
Love my new spanx, they feel great, they fit great and I wasn`t lumpy in a dress !! Yahoo !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
riva50
Date:August 1, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Very happy with Body suit , arrived ahead of time .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
molly17
City: in
State: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Shaper
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: it take a little time getting in and out of
I love my Spanx! I have an issue with back fat and this really helps. It's very tight on the stomach so I wouldn't it for you want a lot of tummy support or if you use the restroom a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gec1220
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
perfect under evening wear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kdejong
City: Canada
Love/Hate Relationship
Date:June 5, 2014
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I have this spans shape wear, but I did not purchase through Lane Bryant. I love it in concept, and I will admit that I suffer through the pain and discomfort and wear it repeatedly. For me I find that the straps dig annoyingly into the front of my armpit where my arms join my torso. As you can see on the model the straps sit to the outer part of your bra straps and as such it painfully rubs in that area. Often times I resort to having to use safety pins to pin it to my bra to try and stop it from rubbing. Which works well, but why should I have to do that? I feel SPANX should revaluate the design on this one and improve upon it. From the waist down it is perfect.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mary Mary
State: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love it!
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: Fit, Comfort, smooths out the lumps
This is my first time ordering full body shape wear and I feel like I've really been missing out! This one is totally amazing. I'm 5'2" and 186 lbs and the 1x fit like a glove. I have an hour glass shape (with some lumps :p) and this smoothed me out perfectly and gave a little lift for the girls thanks for the side supports and smoothed out my back (I wear a 40 DDD). I wore it today with a pencil skirt and short sleeved sweater and I feel really great. I'm a speech therapist in a school so I need to be able to breath and sit at the same time and I never felt restricted. We also have no air conditioning in the building so I was concerned about being way too hot but, so far, I've stayed comfortable.
Using the bathroom was an adventure, but not bad at all. :)
The only con is that the straps kind of dig into the sides of my arm pits and are mildly uncomfortable, but nothing that will prevent me from wearing this every freaking day!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
princess13
City: Altamonte Springs
State: Florida
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Feeling like a million bucks
Date:May 6, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, light
The fit, feel and most importantly the results are amazing. It made the difference of looking okay to feeling like a million bucks. This is a must have in every woman's wardrobe.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Already taken
City: Houston
State: Texas
GOOD THEORY, POOR EXECUTION
Date:March 21, 2014
Cons: Style, Comfort, poorly thought out
This is a great idea, but I fail to see the point of the metal bits on the straps on non-adjustable straps. They dig into your arm making this garment totally impossible to wear. It will be going back and I'll try the high top brief type and see if that will stay up. I wanted the one with straps to make sure it didn't roll down, but the positioning of the useless metal tabs is insane.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hiker17
Age: 35-44
Miracle worker!
Date:March 21, 2014
Pros: Fit, does its job!
There are two similar items like this--one from Cacique and one from Spanx. Despite the higher cost, I opted for the original, the Spanx. I'm so glad I did. It did exactly what I needed it to for an important work event. I wore it under a skirt/top combo and it smoothed everything out and took about an inch off my waist. The size (1X) was true to claims, at least for me...in fact, I didn't even have to adjust the straps. The leg portion fell just above the hemline of my knee-length skirt. As others have mentioned, the straps dug in a little to my shoulders, but it was well worth that slight discomfort. The straps ensure there's no rolling or adjusting...just put it on and forget it's there. I chose to put it on over my tights so that it kept them from rolling at the waist, too. This was absolutely worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesomeness
This item changed my life
Date:February 25, 2014
I love wearing skirts and dresses now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MizDyamond
City: Brooklyn
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
spanx
Date:February 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: straps hurt
I bought this for wearing under my dress. But the straps digs in my shoulders and that's the only thing but with that said I love it overall
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chata
Date:December 1, 2013
Awesome that Spanks have shoulder straps, so the one piece doesn't roll down or bunch up when you are wearing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellamarie
Great fit
Date:November 28, 2013
Pros: Fit
Fits great. Little hard to get into. But well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redd70
City: Winston Salem
State: North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great fit.
Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, true to size as stated.
Very comfortable. Good support for my body size. No roll-up around thighs. Works well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Martha524
Love this shaper!
Date:August 12, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I bought this to wear with skirts and dresses. I wore it today for the first time and it was great! It gave a great shape, the legs didn't slip up at all, and the straps did not fall down at all. Love it! It isn't a very tight/strong shaper, but I didn't want that. I didn't feel like it was too tight, and sitting down I was very comfortable. It was also very easy to use the restroom.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
siggy3674
Disappointed in the product
Date:July 6, 2013
Cons: Style, Fit
Hearing the name SPANX, I thought this would be a great product, especially for the cost. I was extremely disappointed - either I needed to order the item 2 sizes too small or I don't know what because it felt more like I was wearing a slip rather than a bodyshaper. i've purchased bodyshapers that didn't cost nearly as much as this one and felt they did what I expected, control/smoothing/pulling everything in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>