LANE BRYANT Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit

\r\nSlimplicity Open-Bust Mid-Thigh Body Suit provides super control to shape and smooth your silhouette from bust to mid thigh. Cotton gusset lets you wear this shaper without panties, and opens for convenience. Adjustable lingerie straps.
Average Customer Rating:
3.71 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
21 out of 31(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Review 1 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
molly17
City: in
State: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Shaper
Date:June 30, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: it take a little time getting in and out of
I love my Spanx! I have an issue with back fat and this really helps. It's very tight on the stomach so I wouldn't it for you want a lot of tummy support or if you use the restroom a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gec1220
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
perfect under evening wear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kdejong
City: Canada
Love/Hate Relationship
Date:June 5, 2014
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I have this spans shape wear, but I did not purchase through Lane Bryant. I love it in concept, and I will admit that I suffer through the pain and discomfort and wear it repeatedly. For me I find that the straps dig annoyingly into the front of my armpit where my arms join my torso. As you can see on the model the straps sit to the outer part of your bra straps and as such it painfully rubs in that area. Often times I resort to having to use safety pins to pin it to my bra to try and stop it from rubbing. Which works well, but why should I have to do that? I feel SPANX should revaluate the design on this one and improve upon it. From the waist down it is perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mary Mary
State: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love it!
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: Fit, Comfort, smooths out the lumps
This is my first time ordering full body shape wear and I feel like I've really been missing out! This one is totally amazing. I'm 5'2" and 186 lbs and the 1x fit like a glove. I have an hour glass shape (with some lumps :p) and this smoothed me out perfectly and gave a little lift for the girls thanks for the side supports and smoothed out my back (I wear a 40 DDD). I wore it today with a pencil skirt and short sleeved sweater and I feel really great. I'm a speech therapist in a school so I need to be able to breath and sit at the same time and I never felt restricted. We also have no air conditioning in the building so I was concerned about being way too hot but, so far, I've stayed comfortable.
Using the bathroom was an adventure, but not bad at all. :)
The only con is that the straps kind of dig into the sides of my arm pits and are mildly uncomfortable, but nothing that will prevent me from wearing this every freaking day!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
princess13
City: Altamonte Springs
State: Florida
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store
Feeling like a million bucks
Date:May 6, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, light
The fit, feel and most importantly the results are amazing. It made the difference of looking okay to feeling like a million bucks. This is a must have in every woman's wardrobe.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Already taken
City: Houston
State: Texas
GOOD THEORY, POOR EXECUTION
Date:March 21, 2014
Cons: Style, Comfort, poorly thought out
This is a great idea, but I fail to see the point of the metal bits on the straps on non-adjustable straps. They dig into your arm making this garment totally impossible to wear. It will be going back and I'll try the high top brief type and see if that will stay up. I wanted the one with straps to make sure it didn't roll down, but the positioning of the useless metal tabs is insane.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hiker17
Age: 35-44
Miracle worker!
Date:March 21, 2014
Pros: Fit, does its job!
There are two similar items like this--one from Cacique and one from Spanx. Despite the higher cost, I opted for the original, the Spanx. I'm so glad I did. It did exactly what I needed it to for an important work event. I wore it under a skirt/top combo and it smoothed everything out and took about an inch off my waist. The size (1X) was true to claims, at least for me...in fact, I didn't even have to adjust the straps. The leg portion fell just above the hemline of my knee-length skirt. As others have mentioned, the straps dug in a little to my shoulders, but it was well worth that slight discomfort. The straps ensure there's no rolling or adjusting...just put it on and forget it's there. I chose to put it on over my tights so that it kept them from rolling at the waist, too. This was absolutely worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesomeness
This item changed my life
Date:February 25, 2014
I love wearing skirts and dresses now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MizDyamond
City: Brooklyn
State: New York
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
spanx
Date:February 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: straps hurt
I bought this for wearing under my dress. But the straps digs in my shoulders and that's the only thing but with that said I love it overall
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chata
Date:December 1, 2013
Awesome that Spanks have shoulder straps, so the one piece doesn't roll down or bunch up when you are wearing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellamarie
Great fit
Date:November 28, 2013
Pros: Fit
Fits great. Little hard to get into. But well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redd70
City: Winston Salem
State: North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great fit.
Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, true to size as stated.
Very comfortable. Good support for my body size. No roll-up around thighs. Works well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Martha524
Love this shaper!
Date:August 12, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
I bought this to wear with skirts and dresses. I wore it today for the first time and it was great! It gave a great shape, the legs didn't slip up at all, and the straps did not fall down at all. Love it! It isn't a very tight/strong shaper, but I didn't want that. I didn't feel like it was too tight, and sitting down I was very comfortable. It was also very easy to use the restroom.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
siggy3674
Disappointed in the product
Date:July 6, 2013
Cons: Style, Fit
Hearing the name SPANX, I thought this would be a great product, especially for the cost. I was extremely disappointed - either I needed to order the item 2 sizes too small or I don't know what because it felt more like I was wearing a slip rather than a bodyshaper. i've purchased bodyshapers that didn't cost nearly as much as this one and felt they did what I expected, control/smoothing/pulling everything in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goodd2shoo
City: Arlington
State: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Perfect fit
Date:May 25, 2013
I was worried about wearing this because my first priority is comfort. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I received my shipment. A must have for my summer dresses ..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liella
City: Decatur
State: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: Online
Smooth was never so comfortable
Date:March 1, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I love being able to pick my own bra. I also love being able to have that smooth look to my dresses without the ridiculousness of continual wiggling and tugging. Excellent design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miss Mo
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I love this item! It is GREAT! I highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nubiansistah
City: Fairfax
State: Virginia
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Fantastic Fabric
Date:December 13, 2012
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
The material of this shaper is soft, yet it provides enough support.
I also found it to be true to size.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kenochs84
City: Marietta
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Couldn't live without this!
Date:September 8, 2012
Pros: Fit, Comfort
Cons: price
I absolutely love this piece! I have had other spanx and went for the one that had an even higher control level; however it rolled down and was terrible. What I love about this is that there is no worrying! It will not fall down and it slims you just perfectly. I had weight loss surgery 8 months ago and will continue to buy these in every size I need to! I love the opening in the bottom. It works perfectly and I never have to worry about taking it off to use the ladies room. LOVE this!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SPANX® Slimplicity Open-Bust Body Suit
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FaiSho
Age: 35-44
Maybe it smooths some, but that is it!
Date:September 5, 2012
Cons: Fit
Ordered a 3X, according to measurements and it was too big. Did nothing. Went to a store and tried 2X and 1X. They seems to suck in legs some, maybe smooth a bit, bit did nothing for my ab roll, which was my main issue. I just returned it and gave up. Not worth the money and does virtually nothing.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>